1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New rig...

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by stefanels, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    Today i was talking to o friend and he asked me if i don't wanna sold my PC, and a couple of minutes ago comed here and we maked a deal...

    The reason i've selled the pc is because i don't game that much and too much money was sitting in it...

    So now i counting the money and looking for a new rig...

    I've made a configuration and PLS tell me if something it's not OK...

    1. CPU - AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
    2. Mobo - MSI 790FX-GD70
    3. Memory - OCZ Platinum 2x2GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    4. HDD - WD Black 640Gb
    5. GPU - HIS Radeon HD4850 1GB
    6. Case - COOLER MASTER Centurion 534
    7. PSU - Thermaltake W0093RU 500W

    I have the 24" LCD so i'm not gonna have to buy a new one....
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the psu and the case. otherwise is an excellent rig.
    stefanels says thanks.
  3. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I'm not rushing to buy it yet, so you have time to come up with ideas... :D
  4. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
  5. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
  6. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    AAKS is alot faster..
    stefanels says thanks.
  7. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    The only *good* ThermalTake power supplies are the ToughPower series.
    stefanels says thanks.
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    stefanels says thanks.
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    stefanels says thanks.
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    stefanels says thanks.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    stefanels says thanks.
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    so whats different from that to the corsair?? extra 30w? but i would still get a corsair 550w it has 41A on the 12volt rails
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It's modular for one. Plus everyone says to get a corsair PSU, just lookin out for the little guys who are better and cheaper :toast:
  14. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I had 2 TT PSU's and they worked like a charm... Corsair's is also very good
  15. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    uh since when its the AAKS faster? thats the blue edition....

    black edition is faster.

    also, spent abit more money for a 4870 1gb instead of the 4850
  16. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I'm not building a gamer's rig (that's why i just selled my gaming rig), just doing a PC to be fast enought...
  17. DreamSeller Guest

    wow stefanels are the prices in ro same as on newegg :eek:
  18. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    The newegg link it's just to see what i'm buying, the prices is from RO...
  19. DreamSeller Guest

    oh :eek:, i wish the prices around here where the same as on newegg :D
  20. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    wouldn't you be looking in euro prices then?
  21. DreamSeller Guest

    he says nothing about prices , he just wanted to show the items he is going to buy
  22. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    Not a Gaming Rig

    Well You said you don't game that much, but you do game on it occasionally, hence the 4850. The only three things I would change to save money would be the Mobo, RAM, and Power Supply. My suggestions are below.


    RAM 4 GB G.Skill

    MSi Mobo From above

    Rosewill 530W
  23. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    893 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    ...or should i buy an used Q6600, E8200-8400 and a new LGA775 board like this one...
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2009
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The X3 is faster than all of those. If it were a Q9000 I'd say yea, but they're far more expensive.
    stefanels says thanks.
  25. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    no... the 720 is the best deal out there atm

    also since you dont game much , go for the 4770 instead , same performance , tad cheaper, and alot lower power consumption.
    stefanels says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page