1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New rig...

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by stefanels, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    EN: What store do you wish to buy from?
    RO: De la ce magazin vrei sa cumperi? (sa-ti fac o configuratie, zi si o suma maxima)
  2. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    You have a PM
  3. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
  4. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    The Q8200 it's better than the X3 720 BE?
  5. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345

    According to iXBT Labs review the 720 BE seems to perform faster than the Q8200 in just about every task.

    http://ixbtlabs.com/articles3/cpu/amd-phenom-2-720-810-920-p2.html
    http://ixbtlabs.com/articles3/cpu/amd-phenom-2-720-810-920-p3.html
    http://ixbtlabs.com/articles3/cpu/amd-phenom-2-720-810-920-p4.html

    Edit:

    However, after looking at a few other review sites such as Legit reviews the Q8200 seems to out perform the 720 BE in the majority of benchmarks, mostly by an significant amount but it outperforms it never the less, the extra core probably helps aids it to victory. Saying that though one has to weigh up the price to performance ratio before making a decision.

    Sihastru, have you considered the X4 810, they are faster than the Q8200? and tend to be cheaper in many countries.

    Edit 2:

    I would give my right arm for a X3, but then again i'm a bit of an overclocker so the cheapest route to achieving the same performance as the people that want to pay twice the price for more exotic CPUs has always been my way of doing upgrades.

    Edit 3:


    With for one flat tire your the car couldn't operate as intended.

    The disabled core of the X3 still operates as intended and even beats out the fully functional X4s in many tasks. But I would agree, if you can afford a Phenom X4 or a Q8200 or better you'd be better off as it would perform much better overall. The main reason I suggested the 720 BE in particular was because in the original post I thought the threadstarter wanted a mild overclock and I’ve read some amazing reviews and comments on forums where people claimed to get near 3.6 GHz without raising the voltage because of its unlocked multiplier - at this speed even an higher tier Q9xxx or I7 at stock would struggle against it.

    But I suppose it comes down to which applications the threadstarter will be using? he didn't explain which "just non gaming PC" which any computer would do. If its just to browse the internet and do word processing I'd buy a cheap dual core.


    Edit 4:


    That rig you are buying is a gaming rig! No need for PS3 at all :laugh:

    Personally I like to build my own, you could most definitely build a better one for cheaper, but its a nice rig and should run today's games like a breeze nether the less.
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2009
  6. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Only if you want to play games.

    The Q8200 is not that powerfull, but had good OC potential, and it can enter the Q9xx0 domain with some OC. Once OCed the Q8200 will be faster then any X2 or X3 AMD has to offer at everything.

    But since you like Photoshop and don't game so much anymore, I'd get the Q8200 + mild OC.

    An AMD config will be coming right up...
    stefanels says thanks.
  7. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    The bare minimum for an AMD config. Use the same config but change the CPU and motherboard to:

    Procesor AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.80 GHz skt AM2+ box --- 728,47 RON

    Placa de baza Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 -- 385,02 RON

    I wouldn't get the X3, even if it is indeed cheaper.

    I think that you'll need a quad core, even if in some applications a higher clocked Dual Core or Triple Core might be faster. Most things are getting updated to use more then 1 or 2 cores every day. Adobe Photoshop is already using a quad core very well.

    If you have the money, I will also get 8GB or ram, and disable the OS swap completely, life will be nicer.
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2009
  8. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Unfortunately in our country the X3 720 BE is 537,28 RON and the X4 920 is 728,47 RON. Not exactly half the price.

    I'm not saying the X3 720 BE would be a bad alternative, by all means, get it if it suit you, I just have a psychological problem with things that have disabled cores. It's like having 4 tires on your car, but one of them is flat.
  9. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    So after some good days of thinking i arrived at the conclusion that i'm gona buy a not so powerfull rig, with the following hardware setup:
    CPU - Intel C2Q Q6600,
    Mobo - MSI P35 Neo2-FR,
    Memory - 2x2Gb Corsair XMS2 1066Mhz Cl5,
    HDD - WD Black 640Gb,
    GPU - HIS HD4830 512Mb,
    PSU - Thermaltake TR2 470W,
    Case - CoolerMaster Centurion 534,
    Optical - LG 22x Dvd-Rw

    And for gaming i will buy a PlayStation3 80Gb... because this summer PS3 throws out a lots of awesome games... :D
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Good Build

    Strange build, but it is in your budget and it is what YOU want. That is all that matters. Overall, goood system, good gaming, good multitasking, good CPU intensive stuff (DVD Encoding). You will be more than happy with what you got. Many of your pieces perform better than their price point.
    stefanels says thanks.
  11. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I'm getting the feeling that he is buying this rig not building it.

    Ah, sounds like a plan :)
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2009
    stefanels says thanks.
  12. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    LMAO... I'm building it not buying it... I just spending to much time away from home and i owned an i7 rig but i selled a few days ago... I need this pc to be powerfull enought but not to pricey... The PS3 it's good to have whenever i go away from home to have fun with my friend every time when we go out to the cabin in the mountains... The pc was to heavy to carry... :D
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Sounds like you should have just gotten an Aluminum case :)
  14. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    I just got a new idea (and I will buy one for myself):

    Barebone SHUTTLE XPC-SG45H7 --- 1,526 RON

    Includes: Aluminum case, G45/ICH10 (DSUB/HDMI/DVI) motherboard with PCIe 16x dual slot support, CPU cooler, 300W PSU (seems like it's not so powerfull, but it has enough juice for a GTX260/HD4870).

    The Q6600 seems fine if you'll get a G0. At least 4GB of ram. The 640 AAKS. A DVDRW. And you're set.

    Link to product on Shuttle's page: http://eu.shuttle.com/en/desktopdef...ory-248/noblendout-1/tabid-72/170_read-14912/

    I think it's a lot cooler then anything else, and it's portable.
  15. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Not Really.

    That does not have enough power to support a GTX260. At full load a GTX 260 SP uses 245 Watts. There is no way a 300W PSU will power it and the rest of a computer.

    Shuttle cases are not nice, but you are limited in GPU choice and power supply upgrades (if they use a small scale PSU). Honestly, if you are just looking for a computer, game is not an issue, buy a nice laptop. If you want to do some gaming on it, get one with a 780G or Nvidia 8200. They are as good as a dedicated card, but will game well for an intergrated card. It would also be portable and keep your budget to below $650.

    If you want to build a PC, build one. If you are looking for a portable desktop, get a Thermaltake LanParty case and build in it. It will support a card the size of a GTX.
  16. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Shuttle even list Q9550 + GTX280 as supported. They also have a 500W X58 identical system and it can take any i7 + GTX295. Crazy, but it works. People actually use this systems in this configuration.

    Apparently it's not your normal 300W PSU, it comes with one PCIe 6 pin. And it doesn't look like a normal 300W (something closer to SFX). Anyway, the guy only wants a 4830/4850 in it. It will work without any problems, since they only require the one 6 pin PCIe, no need for adapters...
  17. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    We need to know your budget.
  18. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    @ Stefanels: Regarding your first choice (Phenom, MSI GD70) that wouldn't be a bad computer. (<<<<<See Specs<<<<<)
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  19. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  20. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    If I am not mistaken, he wants to spend about 600 - 650 EUR (and the prices will be the ones from RO, usually a little higher then some of you guys are used to, which sux, but that's life). This will be his workhorse not his gaming machine. He will however try lite games (he wants something comparable to a 4830/4850 in this pc).
    stefanels says thanks.
  21. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    That's the ideea... Thanks :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page