1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Router/Adapter Issues

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Noiziv, Aug 11, 2014.

  1. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yesterday my family upgraded our router to one of the best routers on the market today--the Linksys WRT1900AC. In addition to this, my brother and I both purchased two Linksys AC1200 Dual-Band Wireless USB Adapters to go along with the new router. My dad is connected to the router directly in the basement while my brother and I have our rooms upstairs on the top level.

    Today is the first full day of us using our new equipment, and we're already beginning to experience some issues. My brother and I are the only two connected to the 5.0GHz connection of the router, and everything else (such as phones, laptops, etc.) are connected to the 2.4GHz connection. While my dad was at work and my brother and I were both at home, in the middle of my game I started to lag severely, my ping spiking from 40 to 300+. I found out that my brother decided to download a game on Steam and it was the source of my lag. He wasn't lagging whatsoever, and was actually downloading his game at 8.2mb/s and having no issues. I was downloading something earlier in the morning and he experienced no issues either; it seems to be solely on my side and I'm not quite sure why. Also, after the download stopped, for some reason the connection went out completely for both of us for roughly 30 seconds.

    Is there any idea as to what is causing these issues? Is it on my end, the router's end, or my brother's end? And is it related to the router itself or more-so the adapter? Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    I would use QoS and throttle steam down and see if it helps.

    Try a different USB port if it's only on your end as well.

    Also I would go into the adapter properties in device manager>advanced>then keep it in 5Ghz only mode so it won't get any 2.4Ghz interferrence on the 2nd radio of the adapter. I often have better performance this way.
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  3. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for the reply! I went out and purchased the Netgear A6200 adapter to test, and so far have better download speeds than before using Steam. I'm going to do some more tests later with my brother downloading things and I'll post back with my results.

    If I'm still encountering some issues, I'll definitely take a look at your suggestions and see if they work for me. Thank you!
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2014
    remixedcat says thanks.
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    A6200 you mean... I have one of those and it's pretty good. Not the best for 2.4Ghz but decent for 5Ghz.
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  5. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yeah that one! The Linksys one just seemed to be slower than this Netgear one. I'm connected using the 5.0GHz connection.

    When it comes to the two connections, should they both be setup? For instance, if you search for a wifi connection on any computer in the house, we have "Connection" and "Connection5GHz". Is that how it should be? We've never used a dual-band router before so this is kind of foreign to us. We have three desktops (my dad, brother, and I) on the 5.0GHz while our laptops, phones, and consoles are connected to the 2.4GHz connection.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  6. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Yes, use two different names so it's easier to tell. I do.
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  7. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Okay good, that's what we've been doing. Thanks! I'll reply back to this thread soon with my results
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  8. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    You're welcome! Hope it works out better!
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  9. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I don't see a setting in my adapter settings about disabling 2.4GHz. Any idea?
     
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Should be a settings called "802.11 mode" or 'frequency... a pulldown menu
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  11. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    .[​IMG]
    That is what I see in the properties.
     
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    band preference or compabillity mode is what I would try

    here's how it is on my amped aca1:

    WLAN-SETTINGS-81114.PNG
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  13. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I attempted everything and it still seems to have the same issue, regardless of the adapter. Both perform the same... and it's only on my end.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Trade in the router. Do you have any other devices that use a wireless signal
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  15. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    so you've changed the bands as well???

    mabye scan for malware or do the sfc /scannow and see if windows is causing it
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  16. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I don't think it has to do with the router, because both my dad and brother have zero issues if I were to download something. Their ping stays the same, while mine rises if they download. They are both connected via the 5.0GHz connection as well.

    Yes, I tried changing the adapter settings to no avail. I don't know what it is that could cause this, and I'm really out of ideas to this point. I'll try a scan.
     
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Also try this: make another seperate SSID that's isolated like a guest network or something... connect to that and see if it's affecting you. have him try that and you get back on the main network

    Hinte: when configuring that make sure that wireless client isolation is set to "yes" and make sure the SSID is set to "internet only" and disallow LAN access.
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  18. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I haven't tried this, but I'm skeptical as to if that'll make a difference. It must be something do to with the router settings, as both my brother and I have the exact same adapter (returned the Netgear one as there was zero improvement) and I have issues while he doesn't. Considering we are in separate rooms, we get different signals. I actually have a higher/faster connection than he does because his room has been known to be a sort of "dead zone." However, I continue to lag during downloads while he is fine. The old router and adapters we had never caused this, and I'm struggling to figure out why now.
     
  19. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    I want to see if there's anything on your pc that's causing it like malware, etc.... that's why I want to isolate you from the rest of the network (while still keep you connected) and see if there's anything between your computer and his causing the issues.

    Also there's another thing you can try: start>run>services.msc>look for the windows media network sharing service>right click>properties>startup type pulldown>disabled>ok to close (and make sure the service is stopped too) This service is known to cause issues with both high CPU usage as well as network issues/congestion since it constantly shoots out broadcast packets.

    and see if this helps.
     
    Noiziv says thanks.
  20. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    We decided to try a new router (ASUS AC2400) and am experiencing the same kind of issues. My brother is downloading at 14mbps while my ping in game rises to 500+. I tried disabling that Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service and it didn't change the outcome.

    I'm not sure what to do now...I don't know what's causing this.
     
  21. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I seem to have fixed it. With the new router, it came with an Adaptive QoS feature that completely fixed the issues. My brother was downloading at 10.7mbps while I had only 40 ping in game!

    I'm hoping it stays this way and continues to work smoothly. I'll report back soon to ensure it does.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  22. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,240 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    how far away from the router are you. 5GHz is only good for 20ft at max.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  23. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    As stated in my original post, the router is in the basement while our rooms are upstairs on the second floor of the house. And the router we have is good for up to 5,000 sq. ft., so I think we're good with that.

    I seem to be encountering another issue. While my brother was out for the day yesterday, I noticed that random lag spikes would start occurring at any point in time. I was playing a game when suddenly my ping started to rise up to 150, then back down, then back up to even 400+. While this was happening, my brother's computer nor my dad's computer was in use, therefore I had access to the all of the bandwidth. In an attempt to fix this new issue, I decided to try turning the QoS settings off, and to my surprise completely fixed that problem. I have yet to encounter any lag spikes since turning this setting off.

    While this is a fix to the lag spikes, this now makes me prone to the original problem. The QoS settings stopped the lag while my brother downloads, but it caused problems by keeping it on. Did I configure it wrong? Here's a picture:

    [​IMG]

    While using speedtest.net, my download and upload speed is 100mbps/23mbps respectively. Have I configured this wrong? Is there a different thing I must do to eliminate those lag spikes?
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    No wonder. You need to centralize that router in the home or on second story to give a unbrella effect for wifi. Also floors separating basement from home or even second story can cause problems-way theyre built. You dont want the router by anything metallic. A good solution is the Netgear Ethernet over powerline plug link which also sends a wifi signal out. Otherwise its time to make patch cables and drill holes or install ethernet jacks...
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2014
  25. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The router has been in the same spot for over 10 years in this house, and we've never had a problem until recently upgrading. Also, this is only on my end and not my brother's, whose room is down the hall from mine (roughly 15 feet or so). There's no reason to move the router to a new location, regardless if it's 2.4GHz or 5.0GHz. I'm getting faster speeds than I've ever had, so there's clearly nothing wrong with my signal.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page