1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Router or is my currenty router fine?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by puma99dk|, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,330 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    746
    atm i got a Buffalo AirStation WHR-G125 modded with DD-WRT v24 SP2 Build 14896 it's only has 16mb ram and it's not working that well anymore after my fibernet isp made their product "Waoo" my connection is unstable some times even without router and on 4 different motherboards it's the same thing.

    but it doesn't have alot free memory to use it's like this:

    Code:
    Memory
    Total Available
    12.7 MB / 16.0 MB 
    Free
    0.6 MB / 12.7 MB 
    Used
    12.1 MB / 12.7 MB 
    Buffers
    1.4 MB / 12.1 MB 
    Cached
    3.8 MB / 12.1 MB 
    Active
    3.6 MB / 12.1 MB 
    Inactive
    1.7 MB / 12.1 MB
    so i wondering if a new router like Buffalo AirStation N-Technology Wireless-N150 High Power Router & Access Point or Linksys E2000 Advanced Wireless-N Router with 32mbit ram would be better they both has Wireless-N and 1Gigabyte Switch and can be modded with DD-WRT firmware.

    i use Wireless for Cellphones and lappy, my desktop is connected with cable, and i can run around 20/20mbit though Wireless-B/G but i am just wondering if my net will do better with a new router than my good old Buffalo WHR-G125 ^^;


    i got skype problems, µtorrent connecting to people problems and it's pissing me off bcs if i take my pc home to my dad on his 25/5mbit cable connection that runs 30/6mbit i can skype in HD with my Logitech C310 webcam and i can use µtorrent with no problems at all :ohwell:
    and my isp don't give out routers so there isn't a standart router to use.
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,712 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i guess it depends on what type of connection that you gonna use. if just for browsing it looks enough, but if you run heavy traffic better take a new one. and for today theres many router that its price aint dry your wallet
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    So it's unrelated to the router.

    Why do you need DD-WRT?

    We can't tell if your internet can go faster as you haven't told us what your ISP limits you at, apart from "Waoo".
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,330 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    746
    i got 30/30mbit and my isp says they can't find anything wrong no matter how much traffic i make even if my connection goes down, they are still like can't see anything ~.~
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Connect your PC directly, if that gets you higher speeds your router is the bottleneck, if not then it is not.
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,330 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    746
    nah it's not a router problem i even convents the head tech guy at my isp at that bcs he had read the router i got had problems.

    NDT test with router:

    [​IMG]

    NDT test without router:

    [​IMG]

    sry i can't remember what page i used to test on i will see if i can find it later :banghead:

    *EDIT* i used this test: http://www.measurementlab.net/measurement-lab-tools *EDIT*

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  7. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,583 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    What exactly is the question?

    Excuse my presumption, but I see no problem that can be solved.

    It is my understanding that you want to know if you should get a new router. You cite that you don't have much space left in the router's rom. You go on to state that there is a connection issue which can only be caused by the ISP or their hardware, because connecting a computer directly does not resolve the issue.

    Based upon what I gather, you have an issue no router could solve, but are asking if you should replace the router anyway.


    Simple answer - do not replace the router until the ISP can secure and fix your connection. Replacing it before then will only be a waste of money.

    After the connection is secured evaluate what you want. A router generally doesn't have to have much extra non-volatile memory (rom) to run well; case in point is the older revisions of the WRT54g still ran dd-wrt in a stripped down mode, despite not having the rom of the initial revisions of the router.

    Choose to get a new router only if you have a home network capable of higher speeds, you want a router capable of advanced logging features, or you need more ports. Otherwise, the purchase of a new router is money wasted.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page