1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Sandy Bridge Based Celeron Processors Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 11, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,536 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,642
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Amidst the rather high-profile launch of Intel's Z68 chipset platform, Intel Smart Response technology, and Larson Creek SSDs, Intel is also readying its cheapest processors for the LGA1155 platform, this time carrying the Celeron brand. Based on the new Sandy Bridge processor architecture, the single-core Celeron G440, and dual-core Celeron G530, Celeron G540 processors stick to the very basics in terms of feature set.

    The chips lack Intel HyperThreading or CPU Turbo Boost, run at low clock speeds, and have just 2 MB of L3 cache enabled. The G440 is a single-core/single-thread chip clocked at 1.60 GHz, with 650 MHz graphics (1.00 GHz Turbo), and 35W TDP. The G530 puts on a second core, is clocked at 2.40 GHz, with 850 MHz (1.00 GHz Turbo) graphics, and 65W TDP. The series is topped off with G540 dual-core, which is clocked at 2.5 GHz. Expect these chips to take up sub-$100 price points.

    Source: CPU World
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Singlecore and only 2Mb of cache - all we need is unlocked multipliers and ghz record!!!
     
  3. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    609 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    South Africa
    I wish Intel would kill off the Celeron brand already. The i3s are already slow enough as is. :(
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That G530 would be a great chip to put into customers' machines that are light users.
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Unlocking possible? :D

    I thought they were using Pentium last time round for the low end 1156, or they used both?


    The new i3 processors are total beasts when it comes to gaming, able to take on the Phenom II x4 and winning most of the time.
     
  6. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    932 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
  7. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    609 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    South Africa
    I'm looking at this from a workstation perspective. I'd much rather have a true quad than a dual-core with HyperThreading - my employer has recently purchased a bunch of i3 boxes and they are actualy slower than some of the LGA775 Q9550s they are replacing. When you're running multiple instances of Visual Studio with SQL Server chugging along in the background, having more than 2 dedicated cores becomes a necessity.

    We shouldn't be comparing SB to Phenom anyway; it's like comparing gold to shit. Yeah, shit may be cheaper, but that don't change the fact that it's shit.
     
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Ah, say so first before I make myself look like a n00b. Phenom II x6 is actually quite competent in multithreaded environments at its price point.
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Can someone explain what's the point of a new Celeron if i3 exists? I thought that was Celerons replacement?

    OFF TOPIC - Phenom IIs are not shit they do pretty well in most tasks and with the recent price drops make a decent budget buy but sandybridge is a good buy for new buyers not upgraders, tbh sandybridge isn't even utilised to its max anyway so its a mute point.
     
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Why did they buy i3's for that application? That wasn't a smart decision. These chips are going to be used for multiple instances of Visual Studio. This is going to let the office computers and home word processing/email/internet users upgrade from their Core 2 Duo and skt775 Celeron machines to something current-generation with less heat output, better power efficiency, and better performance clock for clock.
     
  11. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    i3s are Core 2 Duo replacements - high performing dual cores (e.g. E8400).

    Pentiums will take over from the old Pentium Dual Cores (e.g. E5200) and Celerons from the old Celerons (e.g. E3400).

    i5s and i7s fill in the quad space, with the i5s performing a similar role to the Q9400 and the i7s filling in for the old top end quads, like the Q9650.

    When Socket 2011 hits, it'll perform similarly to top-end SB, just like 1366 overlapped with the top end of 1156, but offer more enthusiast options (e.g. 8 cores, more PCI-E lanes).
     
  12. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Slow?? compared to PII x2 or heaven forbid Athlon II x2's?? I think not, this is a case of Intel saturating the market and they are doing a hella good job of doing it atm, AMD needs to pull a miracle outta there ass to compete with Intel in the mainstream market, seriously.

    On a side note, AMD have their APU so all is good :wtf:

    I would imagine these to be able to easily compete with the lower end AMD market of dual and single cores and outperform them at the same time, AMD is in trouble if they don't catch up with Intel's current offerings, never mind what they have in the pipeline. T'is indeed a sad time for enthusiasts if that is the case, cause :wtf:if Intel have both price and performance then we are all screwed :mad:
     
  13. spynoodle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Now Intel's getting smart. They need more budget processors to combat AMD.


    Granted, I'd rather have AMD catch up. Monopolies are bad.
     
  14. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I hope this puny does 4.5 ghz right off the box
     
  15. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    It'll have about 10% OC headroom at most - SB chips barely overclock at all without multiplier adjustment, which won't be enabled for Celerons.
     
  16. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Seems like a waste of time, IMO. Are the Pentium e6800 faster than these chips?
     
  17. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    Seriously? You can only stretch a product line so far, and Celeron has run its course. Just make cheaper i3's (i1's?) and call it a day.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    People need to get over the Celeron name and realise that it doesn't matter if they name then Celerons or i3 or i1 or whatever, it isn't going to make the processor perform any better.:slap:

    I really wish Intel didn't kill off FSB overclocking, because I bet these chips would scream! I know my Celeron@4.0GHz definitely screams, and I haven't found a game yet that it can't handle.

    A sub-$100 processor for office computers, simple as that. There is really no point in putting a $100+ processor in a machine that wouldn't even stress a P4. OEMs are still using 775 hardware in new machines, or even worse AMD platforms, because the cheapest 1155 processor is $125. That is way to expensive for basic office system.

    Believe it or not, not every piece of computer hardware released is targetted at enthusiasts.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Spectrobozo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    1.6ghz single core :laugh:

    the worst part is that it's impossible to overclock these things, I'm sure it would be possible to work at 4ghz+ without to much effort and it would perform quite well,

    in the old days you could run a Celeron e3300 at 4ghz on a VERY cheap MB, now...

    even if you buy an unlocked CPU you still need to buy an expensive p67+ MB, while in the past you could try to overclock with anything, I'm running a cheap G31 mb with some OC, now the H61 doesn't even let you adjust the multiplier on unlocked CPUs...
     
  20. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,039 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    People tend to forget that around here.

    Just a guess but I'd say 90% of the computers in the world are used for word proccessing, web browsing, e-mail, Facebook, Youtube, a messenger service and entertainment (music - video). All these things can be done with a very inexpensive computer these days.
     
  21. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    mmm 35w tdp makes for some very very very potentially small office computers, along with some major power savings.

    Definitely a great upgrade for a company running around with prescotts juicing up the electricity bill. (One of the most popular corporate optiplex models were loaded with these)
     
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Or you can get the 2100T which also have 35w TDP, and has 2c4t.
     
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Yep, and a price tag of $135...:shadedshu

    Look people, price is a factor, no matter how much you want to pretent it isn't, it is. I'll try to explain it for you. If you're running a company with workstations that are on the 5 year old range, they are running old power hungry Prescott processors or maybe Cedar Mills. They aren't powerful, but they are still way more than what your workers need because all they do is office work. The cheapest Dell with a 2100T in it is $550, the cheapest Dell with a Celeron is $280, the cheapest AMD is also $280. Now your company is looking to replace 100 old Prescott workstation. Performance, as far as they are concerned, will be exactly the same between the 2100T and the G440 because you won't notice the difference in office apps between the two. Which are they going to go with? $55,000 or $28,000?

    With these new Celeron processors, the 1155 package can finally be used in these cheaper computers, and Intel can finally stop making 775 packages to fill that market segment.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Wait. Bta you said it has no turbo boost, but listed a 1 Ghz turbo mode in the specs for the G440. Which one is right?
     
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I think the CPU has no turbo, but the GPU does?
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page