1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New SSD, is it performing properly?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by sttubs, May 6, 2013.

  1. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    I have a new OCZ Vertex 4 & I'm disappointed with the SSD's performance, my Seagate Momentus XT was much quicker. Is mine defective, these are the results of Crystal Disk:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 262.999 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 253.402 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 220.187 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 247.380 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 15.702 MB/s [ 3833.6 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 51.478 MB/s [ 12567.8 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 126.726 MB/s [ 30939.1 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 101.820 MB/s [ 24858.5 IOPS]

    Test : 1000 MB [C: 37.0% (44.1/119.1 GB)] (x5)
    Date : 2013/05/06 9:24:38
    OS : Windows 7 Ultimate Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,851 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    For SATA 3Gb, that looks perfectly normal.
     
    sttubs and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What Are Your System Specs. Do You Have The Drive Plugged Into A SATA 6GB/S Port On The Motherboard?
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  4. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    363 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    I'm pretty sure its either because your computer doesn't support sata 6Gb/s or you just plugged it into the wrong sata port. Try using the 2 different coloured ones if you have them. For example there might be 4 white ones and 2 grey ones, plug them into the grey ones. Your SSD isn't defective
     
    sttubs says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Oops I forgot to mention that this is in a laptop, pretty sure it's SATA1. It just seems slower that the Momentus XT I had previously.
     
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Nothing is wrong. You can't test the speed of SSD's with CDM because the result is an aggrogate average speed.

    Use this: ATTO Disk Benchmark

    Then post those results here.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  7. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    [​IMG]
     
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Ok. In your laptop you are using SATA2 (3 Gb/s max) which is limiting your performance to below 300 MB/s speeds. Double check your specs on the laptop as this could simply be the max the I/O can handle. If it does support SATA3 (6 Gb/s max), then you need to double check some settings such as AHCI mode.

    And the different here will not be in applications you don't use frequently. The Momentus XT drives put boot info and software you use the most on its 4 GB SSD cache. Since the entire drive is an SSD now, you should see performance improvements for software you don't use very often. For the most part, this will be a lateral move I'm afraid.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
    sttubs says thanks.
  9. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    214 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    i would suggest to secure erase it, and partition it so that the partition is 25% smaller than the SSD's size...
    i believe that will Significantly increase the random access rate so that you won't experience the "pauses" that make SSD's seem slow... anandtech's lastest review of SSD's seem to make this suggestion.

    TL;DR... size your SSD 25% smaller than it's size. (windows partition...)
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
    sttubs says thanks.
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,901 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    This!!! ;)

    That's new... a link please? An SSD isnt a HDD though in random anything. There shouldnt be any 'pauses' even with an older SSD. I mean you have 8ms search times vs .02 on SSDs...
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  11. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    214 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada

    Performance Consistency and the impact of spare area...

    http://anandtech.com/show/6733/kingston-ssdnow-v300-review/4
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,851 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You will have the same impact by not filling the entire file system. You don't need to not partition 25% of your drive to hold on to the benefits of not filling your drive. Just don't fill it... All in all, I'm not sure what the fuss is. It clearly looks like it's running at SATA 2 speeds and random read/writes will never be amazing compared to sequential reads and writes.

    So unless it's supposed to be running SATA 3, this looks perfectly normal imho.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,901 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    Absolutely. :toast:
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  14. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Thank you everyone for your input. The SATA2 seems to be the limiting culprit.
     
  15. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,255 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352

    Looking at your speeds, that is about correct ; 3GB Sata vs 6GB will make a difference.
    Do you have results of the Seagate tested, because I find it hard to believe it did anywhere near those speeds.
     
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,909 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,687
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Sadly unlike a desktop PC there are very few workarounds for a laptop, there are add in cards available for SATA 3 but in reality requiring your drive to be mounted externally and connected via e sata to upgrade and to be honest the performance increase using these kind of methods are fairly minimal.

    I had a similar issue, albeit with my desktop in that my motherbard is only SATA 2 so I bought a cheap PCI-E add in card for SATA 3, connected it to an 8 lane PCI-E slot and I went from similar speeds that you are getting to 350 - 400 MB/s,
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page