1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New SSD - Moving Windows 7

Discussion in 'Storage' started by jeebuscrp, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. jeebuscrp

    jeebuscrp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm planning on getting a new SSD in the next few weeks. I'd like to move windows 7 to the SSD drive for faster boot/load times. Has anyone encoutered this already without needing to reformat? If so how did you go about doing it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wouldn't you simply just clone the drive? But that will move every file on the current drive to the SSD, so you'll want to clean the windows drive up to make room in the SSD
     
  3. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,674 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    US
    Yeah i do it all the time and best thing is that is that the other HDD seems to be a WD drive to so he can just use the download software of the WDC site.

    Although i am not sure trim will be enabled if he does this and might need to go into the registry or some thing to turn it on.

    http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en
     
  4. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Indeed, also theres registry tweaks around, even saw one here on TPU I believe (to enable AHCI, without reformat).
     
  5. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    I've been trying to do it for two days now :(
    I've copied the partition but just get a black screen on boot.

    Here's steps I've tried:

    1) Windows image backup tool as told here
    2) Easus Partition Manager Home edition
    3) DriveImageXML

    4) All of the above combined with Win 7 rescue disk startup repair

    My rig is in the specs. I've tried on both the Marvell 6G and built in Intel ports.

    I'm not trying to tell you it can't be done, just be sure you have everything backed up properly and that it may be a difficult.

    I've yet to try Acronis so it could be a breeze.
     
  6. jeebuscrp

    jeebuscrp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Since my original post I dug around a little more. It looks like Acronis seems to be the best program to do this. They have step by step instructions in there manual on page 58 "Chapter 12. Transferring the system to a new disk".

    download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage9.0_ug.en.pdf

    I'm going to give this a shot once I get my drive. I'll let ya know how it goes.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,908 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,195
    i did this recently, and all i can say is: format and fresh install. dont bother moving it or ghosting it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page