1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New SSD; What to do?!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JrRacinFan, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What should I know before running a new installation on an SSD to optimize it? The model in question is an OCZ Petrol 64GB.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    DO nothing.

    IF installing OS to it, fresh-install with no other drives connected.

    If using as cache drive, jsut plug it in and use the iNTel RST to set it up.

    SSD's don't really need any tweaking to work right. I d oZERO optimizzation for them, as many laptoips ship wit hSSD's only, and many guides out there are based on having multiple drives. I like to leave everything default so that I can remove the other drives without comprimising the stability of my OS. NEvermind that I have multiple SSDs, each with an OS on them. :p
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    AHCI? I will make sure my old drive currently housing Windows is formatted and force it to boot from SSD in bios.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Remove the other drive if installing OS. Trust me on this one. That's not something for SSD's...that's just installing windows period. AS ssoon as install is done, and you get to desktop, you cna add the other drives, no problem, if you need them for drivers or something.


    And yeah, for me, AHCI is a given, SSD or not. My bad on that one! ;)
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not an issue for drivers sake as I have everything on an 8GB USB that im going install from. Anything else I should know before I fire it up? I already backed up my steamapps.

    EDIT:

    Also another question; Does "fancycache"-ing an SSD help?
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,531 (8.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,174
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Then disconnect it.

    Windows will install the boot files to the lowest drive on the controller, even if you boot from different drives. It can be a real pain to figure out which port is hte lowest-numbered, so jsut pull the drive for simplicity's sake.


    I don't think there's anything else..Win7 will recognize the drive as SSD and will enable TRIM no problem. Just make sure that scheduled defrag is disabled once in os.



    Not really with current SSDs. Older SSD's benefited from ahving data offset a bit, but that's not an issue with newer models.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I can't clone as all my games are install to the same partition as windows....

    Alright good deal thanks guys. Off to install land, will be back with results.
  9. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,531 (8.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,174
    Just check the thread on the utilities used, cache issues, etc... still useful IMHO
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  12. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    That's what I am doing.

    The disadvantage is as cadaveca stated in his first post.

    The only thing I would think to do different is leaving the original account setup and not to delete it. You may find it useful as an administrator account. I deleted mine.

    The other thought is that it may key the drives to specific sata ports and not allow for changing location. After setting up mine I wanted to try ssd on Marvell sata3 (6gb) port and it did not want to boot. I am using the native Intel sata2 ports.
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'm back and done linking my Users to a second hdd! Thanks guys!
  14. Synon Zelra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    40 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    shanghai
    it's said better to close the superfetch service.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Do you remember how for quick reference? Unsure of where to go to do this.

    Nevermind, found it!
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    Chicago
    If an SSD is the boot drive in Windows 7 it's a good idea to turn off auto-defrag as well as hibernate and system restore (just to save a bit of space and cut down on writes...unless you specifically want/need those features).
  17. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Why disable superfetch? It doesn't write anything right?
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,196 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,031
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It uses system memory to cache this data. Windows 7 calls it free, but it still has to wipe that area of memory to actually use it. Since SSDs access data so quickly, the caching isn't necessarily needed. Also SuperFetch does write data to the hard drive. Where do you think it writes all the statistical information about what applications you run and what files you're likely to need?

    Either way, I don't think disabling SuperFetch will make a whole lot of a difference, but disabling auto defrag is a must.
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012
  19. tttony

    tttony

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Already done all of the above, including disabling scheduled defrag.
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Actually all the tweaking is pretty much BS. If you're using Windows XP, then yes. But with Windows 7, Windows does all that by itself because it recognizes the SSD. It's SSD aware OS.
    Only thing that you can disable is Hibernation if you don't want to wear SSD if your device goes to sleep constantly. But if it doesn't and you have hibernation set to long hours before it goes into effect, it doesn't really matter.

    I was too fiddling with the tweaks constantly but now i see it's pointless because Windows 7 does it all by itself and works perfectly fine.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page