1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Steam beta with cloud-stored screenies!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Wrigleyvillain, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thought this might be worthy of news and submitted but that was hours ago...

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1740023


    1/31/2011

    - Changed microphone voice input from 11khz to 16 khz
    - Changed voice output from 8khz to 16khz
    - Moved game invites from friends outside of the chat stream, into their own panel in the chat dialog
    - [Mac OSX] Fixed a problem where attempting to resume a paused/interrupted download could always report ‘server unavailable’
    - Fixed games not launching automatically after resolving a cloud conflict
    - Fixed download rate sometimes erroneously reporting very high speeds
    - Added password strength meter when you change your password
    - Added UI prompting you to choose a new password if you've had support change your password
    - Added Steam screenshots feature. Press F12 in any game to take a screenshot. Screenshots are automatically uploaded to the steam cloud after exiting the game, or can be manually uploaded while in-game through the in-game overlay. Screenshots can be managed through the community site and can be published to your Steam Community Profile to share with your friends. Games that use DirectX 8 and earlier are not yet supported.

    There will also be a thread specifically for feedback about the screenshot feature: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...play.php?f=837

    1/31/2011

    - Possible fix to crash on startup or when viewing Games page
    - Fixed an occasional crash in the overlay when taking screenshots, causing the overlay to restart (and not display the recent screenshot)
    - Fixed the default hotkey being Shift+Insert for some users rather than F12. (This fix will cause anyone who changed their screenshot hotkey to change it again.)
     
    Crusader, sttubs, Cold Storm and 2 others say thanks.
  2. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,533 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    United States
    Awesome!
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,728 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,947
    that screenshot feature could be bad, if your game already uses F12...
     
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,122 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,884
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've been using F12 for screenshots in Afterburner for a little while now. And between Precision and Fraps for years before, F12 is my go-to screenshot key. I know some games have a use for it...but not too many that I've played. I hope you can disable it if you prefer to use a different program though. But cool to see that feature get added imho.
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    That did occur to me as well. This is the first iteration; sure it will be tweaked. Perhaps more control really should be added too compared to how it is now but admittedly haven't even had a chance to try it yet. I guess if uploads them all when you quit the game though if you use the overlay you can choose.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,728 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,947
    actually thats a good point too, if they upload while you're gaming... say hello to ping spikes
     
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,153 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,699
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The useability enhancements might be very nice, but the real killer improvement is the enhanced password security.

    Terribly dull I know, but there's nothing worse than a hijacked account. Having some tosser impersonate you, getting you banned from online games, generally locking you out of your expensive games and possibly making fraudulent purchases in your name.

    The more games you have the worse the consequences are, of course.

    And no, it's never happened to me. :)
     
  8. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    that's why you change it to whatever you feel like. it's in the options.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,728 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,947
    and how would i know that, without using the beta?
     
  10. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    by either clicking your mouse about 3 times to opt in, having faith that since the steam ingame shortkey key is customizable that they would be intelligent enough to do the same here, or by reading my post.

    and yes you can opt out of uploading them if you really feel so inclined.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,728 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,947
    last time i used a steam beta, it deleted over 30GB of games. no thanks to opting in, it sure wasnt 3 mouse clicks of effort last time.
     
  12. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    i live life on the bleeding edge so next time worry is on your brow be sure to shine the light towards the sky and i'll come running
     
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    If this isn't WTF-worthy I don't know what is.
     
  14. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Will this fix the Steam Tab [ in game chat, etc ] when I play Black Ops?
     
  15. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I think this steam beta messed up my mic.

    It no longer works in games but testing it shows that it does in fact work.

    It won't let me toggle my mic either. Its odd because this morning it worked now it doesn't.

    Reverted out of the beta and problem still persists.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page