1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NEW Super PI 1m scores

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Laurijan, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Interesting to see the different combos we used to get there. ;)

    nice job, guys. Guess I gotta break out the 3960X...:p...nice score with the 3820!!!
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,159 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I can't hit 5ghz on my CPU. It really seems to hate it. I find that my 3820 has to work pretty hard for an overclock over 4.6ghz. It already wants a lot of voltage at speeds this high. I never keep it that high even if the cooler appears to be handling it okay.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  3. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    first post updated
  4. big_buka New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here is my results...)
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 25, 2012
  5. ZenEffect. New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    I cant read the clocks in that image... lol.. I know its quick as hell though and under LN2. :)
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    [​IMG]
  9. FireKillerGR

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    217 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Athens,Greece
    Hello everyone :)

    Here is mine using dry ice

    Attached Files:

    • 1m.jpg
      1m.jpg
      File size:
      193.1 KB
      Views:
      127
  10. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Been some time since an update of scores - first thread is now updated.
  11. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    bump for more scores ;)
  12. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    532 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    My normal clock:
    [​IMG]

    As high as I can push it:
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ElNiko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here's mine, 50% OC from 2 to 3 ghz, think it's a nice score for a dual...

    SuperPi.jpg

    MB is an Asrock G41M-VS3 R2.0
  14. zabusnorran

    zabusnorran New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Super Pi

    This is almost maxed for me. I can get 4.7Ghz but have intermittent instability problems. Any suggestions on voltages? I'm at 1.32 right now

    Attached Files:

    • Pi.jpg
      Pi.jpg
      File size:
      210.6 KB
      Views:
      93
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    Considering it's an Ivy Bridge, you should try pushing the RAM a bit higher. Not quite sure what that kit will run, but I know most Ivy chips will run at least 2400 provided the RAM itself can run that speed.
    zabusnorran says thanks.
  16. zabusnorran

    zabusnorran New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ram


    This is the kit right here:

    Mushkin Enhanced Redline 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DD...

    I got it because of the combination of speed, latency, and size (I run a lot of VM's)

    I typically don't push my RAM too far because it usually doesn't seem to make a huge difference, I prefer to get something with XMP, high speed and good timings and let the mfg. settings do the work.

    On a side note, the heatsinks on these things are built like a friggin tank and i'm sure I could push it pretty far, if I take my FSB up to 107-108 do you think they would handle ~2000mhz? I've already got them at 1.55v for some OC headroom.

    Thanks for your input by the way.
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    While higher RAM speed won't show much performance gain in real-world applications, SuperPI does see a bit of an improvement.
    As far as adjusting you BClk that high, I wouldn't recommend it. Your SATA and PCIe might get a bit wonky. Can't you raise the RAM divider to 2133?
  18. zabusnorran

    zabusnorran New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ram

    I could indeed, what timings would you recommend at that point? 10-10-10-30?

    Also I typically lock my sata and PCI lanes when I adjust the BClk, although i'm at 103 right now and haven't since it seems to be running fine.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    103 is fine, 104 will start to get flakey. many board run 103 through auto-OC, but few go beyond that.
  20. zabusnorran

    zabusnorran New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ram

    Whatever happened to the motherboards that were SUPPOSED to run at very high clocks? Did that go by the wayside as unlocked processors became more mainstream?
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    NO, it's the architecture's design. Everything runs off of the same base clock, 100 MHz, since most of northbridge functions are now on CPU silicon(PCIe, IMC, iGPU, etc). So when you clock one up, the others move as well.


    Rumour has it that Haswell will remedy this for Intel.


    SB-E chips clock BCLK fairly well, but not much more than 133 or so avg, while on AMD, things are still just as they used to be, since they still use AM3 socket.


    I'll be covering many AMD boards soon. MANY. :p

    "unlocked" chips are out to offset this functionality that is missing, actually, not that the prevalence of unlocked chips caused them to do it this way. Other way around from what you said. :p
  22. zabusnorran

    zabusnorran New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ram

    Ah that makes sense, this is only my second intel rig, i'm used to working with the Crosshair's that can hit 300mhz sometimes.
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    Even though technically the BCLK is still within the same ranges as SB, as the straps work like a memory divider does. I.E. 125 BCLK is still 100 but on a x1.25 divider. 133 BCLK is 106.4 on a x1.25 divider. SB-E gets x1.00, x1.25, x1.66, and x2.50 dividers so that the clock speed of the processor cores can be adjusted independently of the SATA/PCIe controllers while still using the same clock generators.

    Of course you know all of this Dave, but this was really info for zabusnorran so he can understand a little better.

    zabusnorran, as far as timings go, it really depends on the memory chips you have, though loosening the timings a little bit will usually help when pushing for higher speeds. I would also bump the VDimm up to 1.65v for benching/clocking RAM. You can always lower it later and 1.65v is still considered "safe range" by Intel.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Current stable oc... all I could get out of it:
    [​IMG]
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ol' i7 950 showing it's still got some life left in it! Nice score, John! Pretty decent voltage, too.;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page