1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New System Build for a business.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xazraelx, Mar 15, 2008.

  1. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Well, it's the restaurant my father is a manager of. Basically, he said he wanted a cheap computer (below $400) to use as a source for security camera's. That's all I know of. He said someone mentioned the glories of RAID, and he wants the RAID setup...you know...just in case :toast:

    Anyway, I'm not familiar with lower-budget items much at all. I figured I'd turn to AMD, as I'm not overclocking, I just want to leave it there and let it run.

    Here is kind of a semi-plan, I'd appreciate any kind of tearing through that can be done to make it better/cheaper. Remember, staying under $400 (I would tell them just to buy a cheap dell deal with a monitor, but my dad despises all the factory computers he's owned and loves the one I built for him :rolleyes:)

    DVD Burner - 25.99
    Case - 59.99 (I'd really like to find a cheaper decent case, but a lot of them look trashy, not ...serious)
    2x Sata HDD - 81.98
    Motherboard - 67.99
    Graphics Card - 26.99 w/ $10 rebate.
    430W PSU - 39.99 w/ $10 rebate
    RAM - 53 w/ $25 rebate
    Processor 59.99

    So, the total would be 415.92, minus the $45 in rebates, plus whatever SH is. So right around $400. What do you guys think? What are some ways I can cut the cost, or improve performance without sacrificing the budget?

    Thanks TPU.
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    xazraelx says thanks.
  3. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I looked at the idea of on-board video, but will that affect watching the "tapes" at all? That's kind of why I went ahead and threw the 2 gigs of RAM in. =/

    I'm not really sure what kind of resource requirements a security system takes, and I don't know ANYTHING about what they have, no model numbers or anything :banghead:, otherwise I could look it up. Know anything about that area, heh?

    Edit: I love BTBAM, especially "The Arsonist" amazing song...

    Ever heard of Prayer for Cleansing?
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It comes with a GeForce 7050, they were built for watching movies and simple internet stuff. I think it will use some of the ram but that wouldnt matter much :) if you do want a dedicated graphics card the best that I could see that would be much of a upgrade in image quality would be a HD 2400/HD 3450.
     
  5. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Awesome, thanks - I'll run this build by them tomorrow.

    And I would think the integrated would be fine, but graphics cards are getting so cheap now - if they need one in the future, I can just throw one in for relatively cheap.

    Here it is:
    DVD Burner 25.99
    Case - 29.99
    2x Sata HDD 81.98
    300W PSU 41.99
    RAM - 53 w/ 25 rebate
    MOBO - 64.99 w/ 15 rebate
    E2160 - 69.99

    _____
    392 after shipping, before 40 in rebates, for a total of 352. Certainly not bad :)
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What about a OS? You gonna use Linux or... :D
     
  7. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Is there another option?;)

    I'm sure their software is designed for Windows XP - not saying WINE can't run it, but...I don't want to receive 3 calls a day on how to get past turning it on. Although, the more I think about it, I was just going to put a copy of XP on it to be more...friendly...but, if it's just going to sit in a corner. I'll see what they want to do :)
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well do you have the key a key for the XP disc?
     
  9. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I always have a key :wtf:

    And, I think I might actually use a legit one for their company haha. :)
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Im sure you do :p I would use legit for a company computer tho.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You may need a few more PCI slots on the motherboard. No offense to your build Shadow, but by the sounds of things it would have be a full size ATX board.

    Go with your original plans of AMD & video card to stay in budget but get this board instead only due to having 4 dimms versus 2. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138077
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh are raid things like PCI or something? Sorry idk a thing about that stuff.
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    For the cameras, he may need as many PCI/PCIe slots as he can get.
     
  14. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I see your points, but why do I need 4 DIMM slots? o_O Do you have knowledge of these systems, do they require...hefty...ram? In addition, I'm not quite sure the PCI slots needed. It will be wired internet, which is in the Intel mobo, still leaving 2 pci slots. I'm sure the security (well, not sure, but possibly) system will use a PCI slot, leaving one empty. What will I need two more PCI slots for?

    I'm certainly not bashing, just curious.

    Edit: You answered above me. I'll find out tomorrow the model number of the system, and maybe I can get some more specs on it and show you guys - see what is really necessary, and what can be left out.
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ohh yea they might use some weird hook up or something. But I still think 2 pci slots are good tho.
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    4 dimms in case you do end up needing more RAM later. Trust me you want to get this as "server"-ish as possible.

    More PCI slots in case you want to add more cameras :D

    Also, by internet do you mean via ethernet port? Hmmmm ....
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  18. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I'm going to be trying to convince them to leave it off the "internet."

    My dad has a personal laptop, and I see no reason for them to have this hooked up to the internet. I guess I was just talking without thinking :) It's getting late.
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ahhh, I see. You know, there are professionally built DVR's for this kind of work your planning. They are meant for these things.

    Here check out this site: http://www.everfocus.com/default.asp

    Mind you I work for a security monitoring & installation company. I know about what you are looking for.

    EDIT: If you lived near me, I would say call me up later and I can give you free consultation. Normally we charge $100 non-refundable just to come out and give you a quote.
     
  20. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Unfortunately, it's a relatively new company, and they are trying to budget everything. Personally, I'm not sure if a security system is the type of thing to be budgeted :slap:, but hey, it's not my business. Well, they are also in a good part of town, and it's the kind of place where everyone-knows-everyone. So, maybe it's just one of those psychology things.

    I think that the reason that website doesn't have its prices listed is the reason they want me to build a ~400 computer. I looked at the product specs files, and how it works - I agree with you, it is completely purpose-defined, and I'm sure works 4x as well as anything I can build. It would also, in all likelihood, require less set-up and maintenance in the long run.

    And thanks for the offer - unfortunately, I think you're quite a ways.
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2008
    xazraelx says thanks.
  22. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks for the ideas :)

    I'm going to contact them tomorrow, both my dad and the owner. I am also not sure on what they have at all - they could have something similar to what you're referring to with the system as a whole, and just want a computer to hold the data - or could just have the cameras, a pci card that came with them, and software cds. *sigh* I need more information.

    Thanks for all the help from both you and Shadow, I'm going to bed now, but I'll post some information on what all they have/don't have tomorrow. But, hey, at least there is some thought process going on ^^
     
  23. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    samsung smo-151qn

    That's what I was given :) Now, I would ASSUME that is inclusive of everything, cameras and receiver - but not necessarily, they bought it used from someone. It was mentioned to me that it said Class A Receiver on it, or something along those lines. Have any thoughts regarding the system? I'm currently googling it, etc.

    Thanks.

    Edit: It looks to me like they want to use the computer to record the data from the cameras? Does this make sense?
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page