1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New System New problems :P

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Trigger911, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    Well I'm an avid O/C'er I'm new here and I've been posting mostly in the video card section but I'm a poor guy. This upgrade is laughable but im on a tiny budget. But here what i got in the mail on the 3rd of this month ive been searching all over the net if there is a way to change the multi and voltage with out much moding.

    plz click the link so see what i bought or you can see my system spec below my name

    Mobo+Cpu
    Ram

    But i cant get the mobo to post when i go over 155fsb (dont get enuff power to run stable tho)

    But if its impossible to do this then i might upgrade the motherboard but i gotta keep it cheap i know you can get this cpu upto 3200+ preaty easy

    btw extra info im water cooled cpu is running a stable 31C never moves much. but any help would be alsome.

    thanks in advance
    Trigger911

    also feel free to yahoo me at any time but i do work two jobs might take me some time to reply
     
  2. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    no wonder your poor, all your money wnt into them 2 500gig drives :p but seriously, overall the system isnt that bad, its got potential, but that mobo is just gonna have to go. of all the skt A boards i used the abit AN7 has to be my fav, stable board even when OCd and once you upgrade the bios to the latest official its a decent clocker too. thats the only advice anyone can give really, get a nice nf2 mobo like the an7 and youll have some real fun clocking that XP-M.
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    you could of gotten a XP 2800 and mobo if you went to microcenter (same price)
     
  4. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    hehe well im gonna have to put that in my favs then well any places i can get this abit an7 mobo i dont think newegg has got it and tigerdirect dont sell nothing socket a
    btw i had the hdds for about a year now but i just upgraded the base system iu played like 90 bucks a hdd :)

    btw i found this mobo at http://www.pcwarehouse.com.au/product_info.php?products_id=14067 i ant got that cash plz any other mobo you know that are good for this job?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2007
  5. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    ok guys i got me a abit nf7-s version 2 mobo. Now i got it up to 2525mhz @ 33c (running tmpgenc for 25hrs straight) running 14.x multi 167x2 mhz fsb 1.8 volt but i want to get my fsb up higher my ram is ddr 400 but if i hit 170 i get nothing and have to clear the cmos by pins on mobo (Click This to see the ram i got kinda cheap but the cas was good). But i was also wondering what alot of the extra stuff in the bios is for like cpu/fsb spectrums (theres tons there i dont know crap about lol used to gigabyte boards but this abit is pretty bad ass for o/c'in.

    but thanks for the help and btw a an7 is very hard to get ahold of i seen used ones on sites for 117 cheapist and on ebaying as much as 200 bucks +

    well l8z and thanks for the help:respect:

    and btw i dont know what chips i got on my ram theres heat spreaders on them and i do not know how to get em off soa ny help with that and that would be alsome
     
  6. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Find out what speeds that AData stuff will do and then drop your multi to leave you with the same overall OC.You'll get much better bandwidth that way and it will feel much snappier.12x210 is much better than 14x167 even though it's not as high a mhz OC overall.

    Can you tell me what the date and stepping on that chip is?
     
  7. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    ok but my pc wont boot if i go to 200mhz fsb idk whats up with it btw i did some testing with hot cpu 4 i got all good but i got a chipset error and 14 min with prime95 1 error with it

    btw im running at 1.825+ volts on cpu now

    and my amd xp-m 2400+ has a 266 fsb
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  8. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think I might have the ABIT AN7 sitting at my parents house somewhere... I used it for about a year I can sell it to you if I still got it. Just pay for the shipping cost and you got yourself the board... I'll see and post back with pics

    J
     
  9. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    alsome deal but man 3 reinstalls of xp this month already is killin me :)
     
  10. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I called my pops and my grandfather is currently using it... sorry man! I tried! ;)
     
  11. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    NF7-S should be a good enough board for a decent OC.

    You did drop the multi to 11 before cranking it up to 200fsb yes?

    If you get me the OPN,stepping and date code I can tell you what to expect out of it.
     
  12. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    well i did what you asked i got more power out of the cpu and bus that way i got it running 12x@211 so far still working in the 200 as5 thermal tho so i should bump it up a bit every day or so till i hit my max that stuff is way better than the dynex shit i was using. btw thanks for the help every one. btw i whant more info on my ram chip so see what i can do to speed them up im pretty new to tweaking out shit myself i used to use a gigabyte board. but any help on explaining the stuff in my bios and how to change the raz and stuff on the ram would be alsome btw i bumped my ram up to 2.9volt it seems a bit more stable that way.
    but thanks everyone best o/c help chat board ive found so far besides driver heaven

    well l8z
    triggz out
     
  13. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    I agree. Without modded BIOS reaches 227-235 MHz FSB.
    Try 3.0 Volts in BIOS if you encounter stability problems.
     
  14. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    my bois is ver 27 current max is 2.9
     
  15. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    i ran a xp-m2500 in my old rig, and remember that you have to disable apic mode in bios to do 200fsb stable. not sure of the name of it in the abits bios (i used an asus a7n8x) but i do remember having to search the internet for ages before finding this solution. also a right royal pita was that i had to reinstall windows after disabling it

    also that core voltage seems a bit high, mine was stable at 1.6v at 200 fsb 12.5 multi
     
  16. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    athlon xp? :)

    if you can't lower the multiplier in the bios you can try and phycially cut the L11 or someting bridge the set a lower multiplier.

    u have to find on the those athlon xp bridge data sheets. have some on backup cds somewhere.
     
  17. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    All xp-ms are not equal.Mine is one of the better steppings and is doing what it does at 1.65vcore and is rock solid stable.It will go past 2500mhz but but I'd rather keep it where it is.Fast enough for me.

    If you take your ram pst 2.8vdimm make sure you have active cooling for it.Heatspreaders don't work unless they have air going over them.

    I would still drop the multi to 11 and then see how high you can take the ram before it errors.Make notes of your findings and Memtest on each increase.If you haven't got it already download and make yourself a copy of UBCD so you can test without loading Windows.
     
  18. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    He should have multi control and if he doesn't a wiremod is simpler and much less destructive.Performing surgery is likely to kill his cpu.
     
  19. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    well xp-m is multi unlocked i got it going at 12x@211@+1.825volt now its running at 2524 ghz 105 degrees F. If i got over 211 I boot but I dont run stale at all. And Gringes your right i had to disable APIC this board runs ver 1.2+1.4 with it on didnt run stable but im still looking for good descriptions of everything in this mobo's bios. well thankms for the help

    btw ill take pics of my system you guys might get a good laugh on my cooling :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2007
  20. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    a little update i got it at 12.5x 210fsb 2.124 volt getting this grand total stable as hell gonna try to go a bit higher and my artic silver is still gettin broke in :p Btw this is running tmpgenc Express 3 for a few hours ive always got it running in idle in the background.

    +-------------------------------------------------------------------------+
    |Total number of readouts: 85 CPU Speed: 2629 MHz |
    |Running from: 1/22/2007 10:53:36 AM until: 1/22/2007 11:07:41 AM |
    +-----------------------------+----------+----------+----------+----------+
    |Sensor | Current | Low | High | Average |
    +-----------------------------+----------+----------+----------+----------+
    |Case | 71° F | 69° F | 71° F | 69° F |
    |CPU | 120° F | 114° F | 120° F | 118° F |
    |Sensor 3 | 32° F | 32° F | 32° F | 32° F |
    |Core 0 | 2.03 V | 2.02 V | 2.06 V | 2.04 V |
    |Core 1 | 2.93 V | 2.91 V | 2.93 V | 2.92 V |
    |+3.3 | 3.18 V | 3.15 V | 3.25 V | 3.21 V |
    |+5.00 | 5.00 V | 4.95 V | 5.00 V | 4.99 V |
    |+12.00 | 10.82 V | 10.70 V | 11.07 V | 10.86 V |
    |-12.00 | -12.77 V | -12.85 V | -12.68 V | -12.78 V |
    |-5.00 | -5.29 V | -5.34 V | -5.24 V | -5.29 V |
    |Fan 1 | 4560 RPM | 4500 RPM | 4623 RPM | 4548 RPM |
    |Fan 2 | 0 RPM | 0 RPM | 0 RPM | 0 RPM |
    |Fan 3 | 4560 RPM | 4383 RPM | 4623 RPM | 4465 RPM |
    +-----------------------------+----------+----------+----------+----------+
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2007
  21. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    ok im here for help amd gurus im on a amd 2400+ xp-m (dont know if its high or lower voltage dont care to take off the waterblock to much of a pain to get it back on) with a-data pc 3200 1gig ram
    my system stats

    well I'm trying to supply more info on my cpu

    i whent here http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html to try to find my cpu id

    this is what i got one of these 2
    Athlon XP-M 2400+ 1800 MHz 512 KiB 266 MHz 13.5x 1.60v AXMA2400FUT4C
    Athlon XP-M 2400+ 1800 MHz 512 KiB 266 MHz 13.5x 1.45v AXMH2400FQQ4C

    btw i got this cpu in a bundle my aunt didnt need it so i swaped it out with my old cpu http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813185072
     
  22. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Your more likely to have a mainstream AXMH2400FQQ4C with that combo.The low voltage one is the AXMD2400FJQ4C with 35w tdp and 1.35vcore

    Central Brain Identifier or CBid will tell you more about what cpu you have although I don't think even that will tell you what the label will.
     
  23. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    i used cpu-z and its a 1.45volt chip
     
  24. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Here's a thread on steppings and how good or bad they are.
    http://www.socketaplus.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=2005

    It should give you an idea of what yours will do given 1.65vcore if you can find out the stepping.I can understand you not wanting to take the cooling off now you've let the paste cure though,and besides you're finding the limits already.

    Just remember to test thoroughly every step you make.In my book an OC isn't any good unless you can rely on it to be stable.
     
  25. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    ok thanks for the info

    btw i did write down the number on the cpu i forgot found it cleaning lol i got the AXMA2400FUT4C just not the better one but from that site its got the next to best silicon.

    AXMH2400FQQ4C
    no clue one date tho :(

    but another question i need to figure out whats the best bios for this mobo and if theres a voltmod for the ram most i can take it is 2.9 on the newist bios i belive its 27
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page