1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New System or Upgrade dilemma....

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Achingfanatic5, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. Achingfanatic5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hey guys, hoping to get some advice from you on a small dilemma I have.

    Like alot of people I'm looking forward to BF3 coming out in October I'm looking to run this game as high as possible. My current system runs
    BFBC2 on high with 4xAA 1680x1050 quite easily
    Here is the dilemma I have.
    I'm looking to build a new system or upgrade the system I already have ready for BF3 & gaming in general. Now I've been using AMd Cpu's for
    years but i'm looking at intel's sandybridge i7 2600k

    So here are the options I am currently mulling over, your advice would be greatly appreciated.

    My current system -

    Athlon x4 635 2.9ghz
    5gb DDR2 667mhz
    gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 mobo(bios updated)
    gigabyte gtx 460 superoverclocked 1gb GC
    160gb 7200 HDD for OS
    1 TB 7200 HDD for storage samsung F3 spinpoint
    Creative SB X-FI soundcard
    Xenta 800W PSU - 80plus Certified 6x SATA 6x PCI-E
    Windows 7 64bit OEM
    LG 22" Monitor

    Budget £750ish

    Option 1 - New system

    Intel Core i7 2600k 3.4GHz
    Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 Z68 Socket 1155?? any good??
    Gtx 570/580?? Can go sli if needed at later date
    G-Skill 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ripjaws Memory Module X 2
    Will use my HDD & soundcard from my old system
    Xenta 800W PSU - 80plus Certified 6x SATA 6x PCI-E

    Option 2 - New system

    Intel Core i7 2600k 3.4GHz
    Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 Z68 Socket 1155?? any good??
    Use my current gigabyte 460 SOC & buy another one to go SLI, I'm thinking here, that will be
    more powerful than a gtx 580?
    G-Skill 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ripjaws Memory Module X 2
    Will use my HDD & soundcard from my old system
    Xenta 800W PSU - 80plus Certified 6x SATA 6x PCI-E

    Option 3 - Upgrade system

    Upgrade my current system cpu to AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3 GHz Socket AM3
    5gb DDR2 667mhz
    gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 mobo(bios updated)
    Upgrade graphics to a GTX580
    160gb 7200 HDD for OS
    1 TB 7200 HDD for storage samsung F3 spinpoint
    Creative SB X-FI soundcard
    Xenta 800W PSU - 80plus Certified 6x SATA 6x PCI-E
    Windows 7 64bit OEM

    So guys there is my dilemma, I nice one granted, I'm not an overclocker bit scared, but could be tempted :laugh:, anyway, your advice please :)
    All parts sourced from the UK , usually ebuyer.com



     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I'd wait till the Bulldozer comes out and see how that performs before making a decision
     
  3. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    i'd probably go the Option 3 route, but upgrade the ram to 8GB DDR2 1066mhz... how you got 5gb i dunno (1x2gb and 3x 1gb?). and maybe a SSD for the OS with the money saved ;). also you could clone the OS drive to the SSD instead of having to re-install everything. make sure the motherboard supports the 6 core cpu though.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  5. Achingfanatic5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, I'm in no rush, looking around Aug/sept ish to upgrade. Any idea when Bulldozer are released? or is that the million dollar question ;)
     
  6. Achingfanatic5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for your reply, I got my 5gb from 2 x 2gb 1 x 1gb :), when I went from XP to win 7 just bought another stick of 2gb.
    Not really fussed on SSD at the moment, but thanks for the advice ;)
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Should be available by then. Hence why i said just get an AM3+ board. Could maybe even skip on the 1100T and run the x4 til then on the AM3+ board.
     
  8. Achingfanatic5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Will see what Bulldozer fetch to the table, unless the release is Q3 or later, I am favouring option 1 myself at the moment with your mobo advice, will keep mulling though :)
     
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    New system either BD or SB and a 2nd 460, plenty of gaming prowess :toast:
     
  10. WishmasterUK New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Achingfanatic5,

    No matter what you decide to do, please do not use that Xenta PSU unless you want to lose some components when it pops. I have been looking into an issue tonight and learnt more about this particular brand, it does not provide enough amps on the 12v rails for most cards, if you was to look at the label you should see the figures. I am surprised you are running your GTX460 with it, an upgrade would definitely kill it in my opinion. I recommend you go for a top brand like Corsair, OCZ, or Antec. Look into it and see if i'm wrong :D
     
  11. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    If you're going SLI with GTX580 then your 800W supply may not be enough, may as well get a quality 650W for single card or upgrade it to 900-1000W for future proof.

    In any case upgrading from your current PC is waste of money IMO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page