1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New system posts but won't boot Windows

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by jacksyee, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1) could really use some ideas

    2) bought a new case, PSU, mobo, memory, cooler and took my existing hddx2, graphics card and cd and assembled today, it posts but will not boot.

    It will not boot with the 'ultimate boot cd'- it tries to and bsod.

    3) system worked fine prior to upgrading the components - this was just a CPU and mobo/mem, psu, case upgrade
    - same HDDs for boot and mem and GPU

    4). System posts, I can get into setup, it recognizes the boot drive in setup (sees all my HDD) and the cd

    When I power on it goes to windows loading screen then brief bsod then back to boot again. Then it goes to computer did not boot properly screen. Won't boot in safe mode

    It also will not boot from a boot cd as I mentioned above - it starts to and loads a while then bsod

    It will load the windows cd buit I am trying to avoid reinstalling system since I don't hit it stage boot hd since it bsods from the boot cd

    5). Asus p8z77 pro new
    Corsair 860 I PSU new
    Gtx 590 old
    Corsair ddr1600 x2 new. Will get info later
    Corsair h80 I cooler new
    Wd raptor 150 system old
    Wd 500 he'd old but unplugged
    Pioneer cd old
    CPU intel Xeon - new. Sorry will get model later I'm in the car
    Vista home premium old
    Case silenci0 550


    6). I have removed and changed memory and slots. Same problem

    I have tried booting from boot cd. Slightly did in that it goes to perm bsod not quick and back to boot bsod

    I attempted windows repair

    I have removed you and used onboard video - no change

    I have not done system reinstall - I figured not the problem Since wont boot from boot cd- tried multiple good boot hdd and cd (worked on other comps no luck)

    One other interesting thing - it will read the boot cd/dvd (or any dvd/cd) and give me a menu on the boot cd - it's only when it tries to load an O/S - ive tried xp, win 7 and vista on different drives that it crashes and reboots. - any ideas ?

    also the mobo boot device led stays lit - what is key is that it tries to load windows - shows the graphic for about 2 secs for win 7, xp and vista depending then quikly bsod and tries to boot again - only BSOD perm when using a boot d - the "ultimate boot CD" which has saved me many times on other systems

    one other thing if I boot on my win Vista DVD it recognizes the win vista boot drivae and asks if i want to repair - no luck

    I think this is hardware since i tried several working boot disks and it sees the boot image.

    Any help would be great - also - I used the light blue old sata connections (all my HD are old)
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Have you tried running RAM tests?
     
  3. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Did you change your sata controller from IDE to AHCI or the other way around?
     
  4. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    573 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    In IDE, or AHCI??? does the New MoBo have a different default then your last one?? I know I've overlooked that in the past.:slap:

    Sorry , Didn't see jack1n's post. My apologies.
     
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Update bios?
     
  6. Frenzic

    Frenzic

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    England UK
    Have you got that H80i fan and pump plugged in the right way? Pump onto a 3-pin fan header and the fan onto the cpu_fan 4-pin header? I had an issue once when i didnt plug the fan or anything into the cpu_fan header but else where and the motherboard thought it had no cpu fan or it had broke so it wouldnt let the system boot into windows.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Rochester area
    change the disk controller mode in the bios from AHCI to NATIVE-IDE
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,864 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,568
    +1 for IDE vs. AHCI problem.

    Whats the bluescreen code? 0x0000007b is inaccessible boot device, which would confirm ahci vs. ide problem
     
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Rochester area
    it may not bsod at all even if you are not booting with "disable automatic restart on system failure" enabled
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,864 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,568
    ah yes, first option that i disable on new installs.
     
  11. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks gents

    "Have you tried running RAM tests? " have no but have tried different stick configs and get same error no matter whether I use one or two sticks or either one

    "Did you change your sata controller from IDE to AHCI or the other way around? "

    I changed it to AHCI - should i change it to IDE? pretty sure they are not IDE

    "Update bios? " - will try that next i think

    "Have you got that H80i fan and pump plugged in the right way? Pump onto a 3-pin fan header and the fan onto the cpu_fan 4-pin header? I had an issue once when i didnt plug the fan or anything into the cpu_fan header but else where and the motherboard thought it had no cpu fan or it had broke so it wouldnt let the system boot into windows.
    __________________"

    Let me check this - the two fans go into a y connector into a sata power connector - ill make sure i have something plugged into CPU fan

    "change the disk controller mode in the bios from AHCI to NATIVE-IDE "will try this

    "Whats the bluescreen code? 0x0000007b is inaccessible boot device, which would confirm ahci vs. ide problem" - one sec let me check

    "it may not bsod at all even if you are not booting with "disable automatic restart on system failure" enabled
    " checkign this now
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    When it is booting you can press F8 and select the option to disable automatic restarts on BSOD so you can check what the error code is.

    If changing from ACHI to IDE or vise versa doesn't work you might just be stuck re-installing. Sometimes there is just no avoiding it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Install Windows with IDE enabled see if it has the same issue.
     
  14. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks

    changing sata to IDE fixed everything

    Super help guys, thanks
     
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    jacksyee says thanks.
  16. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    will do - i assume i do not want IDE?
     
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Rochester area
    its not gonna really affect much
    NATIVE-IDE is just a fallback mode has very little effect on anything unless you are running a SSD unless you are familiar with registry editing just leave it be
     
    jacksyee says thanks.
  18. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Take the mb out of the case and get everything up and running before assembling...saves headaches down the road.
     
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Rochester area
    how the hell is that relevant to a bios/registry mis-setting
    :banghead:
     
  20. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    How did you determine that is the problem? :laugh:
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Rochester area
    because the OP said it was :banghead:
     
  22. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)

    No, he did not. :laugh:
     
  23. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    Rochester area
    yes he did
     
  24. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)

    Sorry, I had not refreshed my screen before making my offering. You have however every right to be the never ending douche bag. ;)
     
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,864 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,568
    to enable ahci:

    start regedit, navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci
    and set start to 0:

    [​IMG]

    the ide driver is located at pciide in the same tree.

    after windows install i usually set them both to on, which theoretically increases boot time (less than a second), but lets me use windows with both ide and ahci set in bios
     
    megaflegmi says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page