1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New system

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Alcpone, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Hi all, not sure if this is the right section, but hey ho.

    I am looking at buying a prebuilt system from overclockersuk http://www.overclockers.co.uk/syscon_int.php?prodid=FS-282-OK they give you the option of having it clocked before they send you it, but if I choose the option of no clocking will they bios still be accessible for me to do some mild clocking? I haven't been that frequent on here but the info you can get is amazing so any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Hi Alcpone, welcome back! :)

    It looks like they use standard retail motherboards so I doubt they use any kind of special bios that locks the user out. Your best bet would be to contact them and ask though.
  3. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Thanks mate

    I was just abit sus about asking them, as then if I was to cook said new system I wouldnt get a RMA lol

    I will drop them a message :toast:
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,214 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I have an overclocked board from OcUK. On an OC'd board they'll probably save the settings in the BIOS. My board, like most others I'd presume has a 'default' mode for stock settings. If you buy from OcUK i'm sure you'll have free reign over the BIOS whether it's overclocked or not. Had my board two years now and not a hint of a problem.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    You could word it carefully and say, "let's say I were to upgrade my RAM in the future and needed to manually set the settings in the bios. Could I do that?" Or something like that. :toast:
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Welcome back :toast:

    I'm an OcUK customer though I never bought a prebuilt or a bundle from them.

    As far as I know, when you buy an overclocked system they give a warranty on the overclock and specifically state that if you add more ram or flash the mobo's bios you lose that specific warranty on the overclock. It doesn't mean you lose warranty on the parts, the way I understood it.

    I'm pretty sure they won't be locking the bios if you choose the non-oc version. But better send them a message just in case - they normally reply within 24 hours.

    It's definitely a better option budget-wise to choose no overclocking, as I see from your link! :laugh:
  7. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I think I read about if you change the bios it voids their system or atleast they wont offer support anymore?

    Good idea, I will use that line.
  8. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Cheers mate

    Thats what I thought.

    I wouldn't want to pay for them to overclock it when thats half the fun, I wouldn't screw it to bits, but even a i5 2500k doing 4ish gig would be nice :)
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,890 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i bought a pre overclocked bundle from a guy i know in UK, and its just like every other consumer board/bios
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Holy shit! Al is still alive? Welcome back.

    I gotta ask tho, why prebuilt and not diy?
  12. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Thanks mate.

    Im getting too old to mess on lol
  13. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,354 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    AZ
    25 quid for them to change a few bios settings seems like a fail to me. and you'd probablly be able to build it cheaper and faster if you did it yourself.

    gonna have to go with wile e on this, why prebuilt?
  14. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Bump lol

    I've got a imac at the moment with boot camp running win 7. Plays FSX moderately well, but the wife isn't happy as she gets little use on it so I'm opening this up for debate again. I will build it myself if nothing has changed much in the last few years as far as hardware and piecing bits together. Would love it to run fsx mucho fast, so if anyone can do me a shopping list that would be cool. I need everything barring OS.

    Cheers
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,685 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    I would start a new thread so they don't have to read the first. And come up with a budget. And welcome back
    Alcpone says thanks.
  16. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Good idea and thanks, been a while but I know you guys will help me out.
  17. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
    Alcpone says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page