1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new to forum looking for a new build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by moocow0463, Dec 29, 2007.

1. moocow0463

Thanks Received:
    i was messing around on tiger direct looking for components and im thinking of doing a Cross fire setup, after all the pricing done i came up with about $1800 in parts, im new to building and component matching so i could use a little help too, the motherboard i was looking at is DDR3, so that upped the cost being ram for it was 300 instead of 100, but i figure if i want it to last the ddr3 is the way to go? i havent done much with processors or motherboard but heres what i decided on

water cooling system (havent messed much with them but figured with over clocking im gonna need it, but what else do i need with a cooling system cpu fans, basic fans what else?)

Dx38BT board (figured it would go pretty good with over clocking)

id like a qx9650 but that would bring my price up another $800 so i was thinking e6850? not really sure what route to go?

dual 3870's or 3850's which ever fits into the budget

750-1000 watt PSU

1-2GB ddr3 ram

soundblaster card

around $100 in the network card or so

i wont need a ton of space so 300-400gb harddrive will do

and windows vista

2. NeoCrisis

NeoCrisis

Thanks Received:
    From what ive read DD3 is still too new and not much of an upgrade (ATM) from DDR2(1066mhz).
    It'll probably take atleast another 6 months or so for the latencies to go down on ddr3.

Price:performance ratio id go with ddr2

moocow0463 says thanks.
  3. CrAsHnBuRnXp

CrAsHnBuRnXp

Thanks Received:
    Crossfire and SLi are useless unless you have a high resolution monitor. If you dont have one, its a waste of money and you'll gain next to nothing in FPS.

Id also reconsider the graphics card. The new 8800GT 512MB seems to out do it. My 8800GT wipes the floor with my 8800GTS 640MB.