1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New to Overclocking, just need some Advice

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by aeirion, Mar 4, 2009.

1. aeirion

aeirion New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi,

I recently posted in the system builders advice area, and got a lot of helpful tips in designing my system. Everything works great, but now I'd like to tweak it's preformance a bit.

I'm pretty new to overclocking still, but I have a basic understanding of it. I've been doing some research into people overclocking the same processor I have, and what sorts of results they were able to get. I've noticed you can get it anywhere from 3-4.5ghz if accounts are to be believed.

I'm not using any sort of specialized cooling system, but my case has 5 fans if you count the cpu fan, and the processor idles at around 15 degrees celcius. So I figure I have some room to work with here.

I've tinkered with over clocking it a bit after watching this video as the person who is overclocking here has the exact same motherboard, and processor as I do, and is going for a similar clock speed as I hope to achieve (I'm actually looking for around 3.2, but 3.4 wouldn't be bad).

Anyway, I tried editing my FSB speed, and memory speed as done in this video, except with a slight downgrade (he enters 272, and I used 260), and each time I did this the computer would reset the clock control option back to 'disabled'. It's pretty anoying and I suppose I'm doing something wrong. I will note I didn't manual change the voltage as shown in video, as when it was on auto it adjusted itself to the voltage he manually put in.

Any advice would be nice.

Oh and I also had a weird problem when I tried to save the bios, it would act like it was restarting like normal, and then never complete the restart.. so yeah.. something to think about.

My full specs are:

Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L