1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New to TPU - Advice on a new system I snagged for £300

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ...PACMAN..., Nov 22, 2012.

1. ...PACMAN...

...PACMAN...

Thanks Received:
    Hello everyone I'm new to TPU and relatively new to PC gaming. I managed to get a great deal on a privately advertised gaming PC which I'll be collecting next Friday (see specs which I have filled out)

I currently game on just an XBox 360 so it should be a nice step up :) It was only £300 for everything listed there and it has a legitimate copy of windows 8 included.

I have plans for the build and wanted to run them by you guys.

Change out the processor to an FX - 8350
    Add better cooling in the form of either an H80 or H100
    Get faster memory
    Add an SSD or two
    Possibly change out the GFX card for something meatier

Obviously on my budget I can't do all of these at once so I wondered which one you would deem to be the most benficial upgrade/change?

2. RCoon

RCoon Forum Gypsy

Thanks Received:
    RAM is more than reasonable, gfx is 600 what? if its 660 or above, then thats just fine(midrange) as it is, 670 is wonderful for 1080p if you want to go that route of nvidia. You dont need to touch that psu for now.
    Processor is alright, 8350 would be a large upgrade, but i personally would put an SSD to the top of the list, you would see more of a difference with that/those. 128 is more than enough for OS and software. I'd recommend a second for your favored games, though i have so many i drop them all on a 2TB HDD and cant complain.
    SSD>CPU>CPU COOLER>GFX
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

Thanks Received:
    I wouldn't change a thing until you have used it and see if it meets/exceeds your needs. Welcome to TPU. Although the first thing I would nab would be an SSD.
  4. ...PACMAN...

...PACMAN...