1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New to watercooling, looking for coolant..

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ChristTheGreat, May 26, 2014.

1. ChristTheGreat

ChristTheGreat

Thanks Received:
    Hey guys,

I'm new to this. Just ordered an XSPC raystorm D5 RX240, as my starter kit. I did want to have a D5 pump external, and low price :)

The kit doesn't come with coolant.. Here's my need:

-Blue color
    -No need to do alot of maintenance
    -if it can have all the anti-corosion and bacterial stuff..

Or I am open to any suggestion :)

Thanks alot!

Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Norton

Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

Thanks Received:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. sneekypeet

sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    new o-rings from an auto parts store does wonders for that kit, the stock'ers are a bit thin and flat to be of much use without wrenching in the fittings.

I too would suggest water inside, and tubing in the color you seek. Also with a lot of the clear tube out there, if not properly cleaned on setup, even sometimes with all that effort, the tubing will yellow over time and visibly change color. With colored tubing, unless something very light in color, it hides this much longer, allowing you not to have to disassemble the loop as often.

4. ChristTheGreat

ChristTheGreat

Thanks Received:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. sneekypeet

Thanks Received:
    The only real issue with coolant is buildup in the blocks, which over time can and has restricted loops. Mostly it just looks nasty and is a real pain to have to disassemble blocks as well as the loop to get rid of the leftovers from the coolant. Honestly I have a loop here I filled with distilled water 2 to 2.5 years ago, and I will be honest, all I have done is remove the fans and blow out the radiator to maintain it.

6. ChristTheGreat

ChristTheGreat

Thanks Received: