1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Upgrade. Intel or AMD?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Wingo101, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa
    My brother wants to upgrade his pc ie. MB, CPU, RAM, GPU, CPU Cooler, PSU.

    What will be better for him? Intel Pentium Dual Core or similar AMD?

    He has a budget of R5,000.

    Here is what's currently in his wishlist:

    MB: Asus P5KPL-C/1600
    CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 2.5GHz
    GPU: XFX GeForce 9600GT 256bit 512MB DDR-3
    CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9500 A LED
    PSU: Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus RS-460W
    RAM: 2GB Corsair

    He is buying from here, if you want to check on prices.

    What do you guys think?
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I'm not so sure where you are buying from, i'm not in South Africa. What I can tell you is that yes, you really wanna do the Intel over the AMD. You might want to consider a tad better PSU, as that is my main worry. Try more around a 550w or you might have troubles down the road.
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Just a heads up, R5000 = US $500.

    The cooler is a waste for its money/the CPU (~$50), replace it with a Freezer 7 Pro. See if you could squeeze in a E7300, and a 8800 GT within that budget, see if you could get a P5Q-L (P43 based).
     
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    O also we did forget to ask, what will he be doing on the PC. That would really help. Does he wanna OC, game, what?
     
  5. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    What is he doign with teh PC?

    Wait a few weeks and watch the prices.
     
  6. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa
    First off, he will be buying from here: www.sybaritic.co.za

    We can't get Freezer 7 Pro in SA, 8800GT alone costs over R3,000.

    He will be using the PC for entry level gaming ie. CSS, ETQW, COD4, maybe even Crysis on medium-low.
     
  7. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I would suggest he gets a mainboard capable of running a QUAD, but just install a cheap dual pentium for the time being. REASON: Next year he can upgrade with a cheap second hand Q6600 or similar.

    Today, DDR2 is cheap, so dont hold back. Go to the max.

    You can buy a cheaper cooler, but the one you suggested is fine, and will be SILENT.

    The PSU is fine for a tier-2 gaming rig. You wont crossfire or load it with multiple HDDs, so 460W is OK. But if you WERE to think again, go 500/520/550W.
     
    Wingo101 says thanks.
  9. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa
  10. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Intel or AMD.

    There is no right answer.

    If your brother plans on overclocking I would get a cheap E-series Core 2 Duo such as the E5200, however if overclocking isn't a priority I'd get a Athlon X2 6400+ as its equivalent to an Intel E6600. As far a quad core goes, Intel's quad cores are expensive over here, I'd get the Q6600 for Intel or the AMD Phenom X4 9950 which is faster and about the same price (in the UK anyways)

    I would avoid the Nvidia 9600 GT as there is and a hardware issue that causes the cards to render black screens, especially on the first generation of these cards. I would avoid the 9600 GT and get a 9800 GTX+ or 4850 which are still relatively cheap and a lot faster.


    Edit:

    Wingo101, what is your brothers current PC specification?


    Edit 2:


    I actually isolated the problem on my 9600 GT. It was a conflict with my old motherboards chipset, I changed my motherboard from a ATI chipset to an Nvidia chipset and my black screen issue disappeared completely :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
    Wingo101 says thanks.
  11. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    +1 on the 9600GT issue just avoid this card or you'll end up getting a blackscreen. I had one and im using it I have to downclock every game I played just to avoid the blackscreen. I wish I had bought 8800GT on the first place :banghead:
     
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    At stock speeds it AMD vs Intel would be the same. But if you consider Overclocking E5200 all the way.
     
    Wingo101 says thanks.
  13. Shooter308 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    I just upgraded my wife's desktop from an AMD XP Athlon 3200+/Soyo KT600 dragon plus mobo to an Asus P5QL-E mobo and an Intel Dual Core E7200 processor.

    She noticed a huge improvement in her computer/gaming performance.
     
  14. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    oh course she did she went from like 5 years ago tech till today, hardly a good comparison over amd vs intel??
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  15. Shooter308 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    True, very true....lol.......I've used AMD and Intel processors in the past and if you don't mind an extra fan or two when using the AMD processor than go what way. But I know, as well as, most everyone else, that the Intel processors typically put out less heat and therefore a user can use less fans in the same system reducing my computer's noise level down.
     
  16. Moose

    Moose New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    306 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    Lol i can see this going into a 9950 or Q6600 debate lol (obvious which one i'd choose) the way I see things is never, never skimp on a cpu, it affects everything. Though the prices are dreadful £265 for a 9950?
     
  17. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,564 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    I am a AMD fan...and I can say it does make a difference, which is why I run intel now. Lets see you can have a E5200 for $83, or a X2 5400B for $83. Both are 65W. However the Intel chip is just superior...The wolfdale has 2Mbs of cache to the 1Mb AMD. Also it would take roughly a 3.2Ghz AMD chip to compete clock to clock with the E5200 at 2.5Ghz. The amd chips is about 15% slower.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103267
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116072

    I would only recommend Intel chips for new builds as they are the superior chip. I mean look at Techpowerups own benchmarks and 3dmark postings. AMD doesnt compete anywhere near the level Intel is.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=72114

    Then if you want to get into Overclocking, well the e5200 has tons of head room. The Amd chip will top out around 3.4 -3.6, depending on extreme cooling.

    The only reason to go with AMD is Motherboard cost. Amd boards are usually cheaper.
     
  18. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345

    The Phenom X4 9950 is £135.11 inc VAT

    The Q6600 is £152.74 inc VAT

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-226-AM

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...SLACR 95W Edition" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail

    Both CPUs I've seen cheaper at one point or another.

    What are you talking about?

    Overclocking aside, an Athlon at 3.2 Ghz for example the 6400+ X2 would outrun a E5200, no problem.

    An AMD 5600+ X2 @ would hold its own against a E5200

    Infact a 5600+/5800+ X2 would hold its own against a E6300
     
  19. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Cooler : S1283
    CPU: E7200

    Dunno how is the pricing. How much r is 1 usd?
     
  20. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Don't get a dual-core pentium. Go with a Core-2 Duo or an Athlong 5000 BE (if you can find it)
    And don't listen to the people bashing the 9600GT, the G94 is a GREAT GPU, I've owned two and never had any problems, and the people I know who also have 9600GTs have never had any problems.
     
    Wingo101 says thanks.
  21. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa

    Currently he has a very low spec:

    Intel Celeron D 3.06GHz OC to 3.8GHz
    Asus P5S800-VM mobo
    1GB DDR-400
    Sapphire X700 Pro GPU

    Hence the upgrade :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  22. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa

    I think currently 1USD = R10.50


    I think I'm gonna sell him my 8800GT, so I can upgrade.

    What do you guys think?

    GeForce 9800GTX+ R3,636
    GeForce GTX 260 R 4,639

    Or should I get an AMD?
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  23. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    With those specifications he has little room to complain, which games is he currently playing and which games will he intend to play in the future?

    How much is a ATI 4850 where you live? Over here price/performance I think its the best choice.


    As far as CPUs: If you're overclocking either an E5200, 5000+ X2 BE, 5600+ X2
    If you're not overclocking either an Phenom 9950/9850, Q6600, E7200, E8200
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    amd system will be more cheaper
     
  25. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa

    Currently: Devil May Cry 3, Warcraft Frozen Throne, Counter Strike Source, & the NFS Series.

    Future: Devil May Cry 4, NFS Undercover, ETQW, COD4, maybe Crysis & Warhead.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page