1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New vid card, but no signal or beep.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by alucard13mmfmj, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I recently got a 760 gtx 2gb. I was replacing my 6870 radeon sapphire 1gb.

    My current build is
    Intel i5 3570k
    asrock z77 extreme4
    8gb ram
    2 harddrives
    Evo hyper coolere 212
    corsair tx650w


    I tried to install the 760 today, but I got no signal on my monitor and no beep. So at that point I remembered I had to uninstall my amd drivers for my 6870. Stuck my old cars back in, but now I get no signal or the usual beeps. All my fans run and my mobos debugging is lit up as usual.

    Not sure what the issue is. I reseated all the connections of my components. Reseated my ram. Cleared cmos. I also tried having neither cards slotted.

    Comp ran fine for 2 years until I tried to change vid cards.

    any have ideas on what maybe the issue? At the moment, I am shopping for a new psu since I need a spare one and on the off chance that is the issue. If not psu, its mobo or the new card did a booboo on my pcie3 slot.
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,129 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,026
    does you computer work using the integrated graphics?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,276 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Did you forget the video chord and check both ends?
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,702 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,024
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I once saw a guy tear his PCI-E slot clean off with his video card, it was still attached. Might be worth checking your PCI-E slot pins are still in place.
    Besides that, check you've got power going into your GPU, also reset your CMOS for the sake of playing it safe. As said above, check your onboard video first.
  5. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    LOL :p.. it appears I used the wrong DVI cable. I used to have 2 (2 DVI cables) monitors and I removed one monitor, but left the cable of the other monitor lying around. So I was using the DVI cable that wasn't attached to a monitor. lol.
    Quite embarassing.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,276 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419

    Organization/Marking Chords Does Help LOL :toast:
  7. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    lol, i did check the DVI when you suggested it :p, but I only checked one end of it. ah well. you win!
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,276 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    All is good dude, no worries lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page