1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Video Card & PSU, but I'm getting random crashes now.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Lodus, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Alright, so I installed my new PSU & Video Card today. The Power supply is a Corsair Builder series CX500 V2 500w & That ASUS EAH6670 Radeon HD 6670 1gb. Sadly, I'm starting to see random crashes. Like 5 minutes ago I was playing CS:S then it randomly crashed on me & the whole computer froze I couldn't do anything I had to turn the computer off completely. Please help, I'm really nervous that something might break. :| Thanks - Lodus.

    Edit #1: I'm pretty sure it isn't the video card because when it freezes monitor is still on but the lights on my keyboard go out. I'm starting to think it might be from my PSU overheating because my case that I installed it in is top mounted & it doesn't have any holes on the top of the case for airflow (above the fan on the PSU). I have no clue of what I can do. Please help me!

    Edit #2: I don't think it's the power supply anymore because when it just crashed again I opened up the side to check if the fans were still running (meaning they have power) & they were! So I don't think it's my power supply but I also am not to sure if it's my video card because the fan on it was still spinning but it could be. I think it might be something I can fix once I figure out what it is, but for right now since everything is working fine until I actually start to game. I am going to try and see if it happens without gaming. I am just really hoping to not have to send anything back. ):

    Edit #3: Took out the GPU but left the new PSU in and it still crashed, so I will probably send it back. Wondering if I could get money back instead of a new one since my old PSU can run my GPU?

    Specs:
    PSU: Corsair CX500 V2 500w
    MOBO: PEGATRON M2N78-LA
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 630
    Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.8GHz
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB
    GPU: ASUS EAH6670 Radeon HD 6670 1GB
    System: HP-Pavilion AY018AA-ABL p6310f
    Windows 7
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  3. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yes, I was using onboard video before.
    [​IMG]
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Lodus says thanks.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,709 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Location:
    Oregon
    If its a top mount PSU the fans should be facing down. Turn the PSU over

    Uninstall your drivers. Download new drivers from the ASUS website and install
  6. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Okay, should I also checkmark the Nvidia Chipset?
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No don't. You have an nvidia based motherboard
  8. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Okay, I did what you said & everything is running fine. I'll come & post back if it crashes again. Thanks for the help so far!
  9. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Okay, well it crashed again. :( I flipped my PSU over so the fan is facing down even though I don't think that'll do very much. But any other ideas?
    I just flipped over my Power Supply since it crashed again to see if anything changes.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  10. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah, it just crashed again. I honestly have no idea why it would do this. :eek:
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Link to ram specs please...

    In your OP you have also said you have a feeling it's overheating. Try gaming without the side panel on.
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,292 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    tried disabling onboard GFX see if that helps?
  13. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    You could try taking one of the new hardware adds out of the equation. Remove the video card and run just onboard video and see if it still crashes. Do you have the old power supply still? Try doing the same in reverse.
  14. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I have been gaming without the side on this whole time, & Samsung 2GB 2Rx8 pc3 - 10600u - 09 - 10 - B0
    M378B5673EH1 - ch9 1005 1333mhz. That's all it says on the RAM then I can't find anything else on it but I have 3 of those.

    How would I do this?
    I wouldn't be to use my old PSU because it isn't enough to run my new video card.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    it could be the hdd.

    but i suspect the motherboard. pegatron = asus.

    get HD tune pro

    install it. then run it. go to the health tab and post its screen shots.
    someone here will help you further.

    as for me, its 2.30am and i am off to sleep :D
  16. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    What was your old power supply? You would be surprised on how low these 6xxxx series uses. It would only be use for awhile not long term. It could rule out your power supply and point you towards the video card or it's drivers causing the problem.
  17. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    My Old PSU is 300w
  18. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Nothing even shows in the health tab?
  19. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
  20. ron732

    ron732

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Have you tried using the Event Viewer in Windows 7 to see if it is logging any problems right before your system freezes?
  21. Lodus

    Lodus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Okay, I'll try swapping them after work then I'll post back to see if they work or not.
    No, I'm not sure what the event viewer even is?
  22. ron732

    ron732

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    To use the Event Viewer go to the Control Panel and open up Administrative Tools. From here you can launch the Event Viewer which allows you to examine system log files that may contain information useful in finding your problem. If you get stuck just Google Event Viewer. There are alot of web sites with helpful info and many videos on YouTube.
  23. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
    (this is Sparta statement) Why point to some other web site about a given GPU's power consumption when we have w1zzard's reviews with his fancy-dancy power meter? The legend of w1zzard is so great that that thread points right back to w1zzard's review!;) Max power draw (furmark, no game will ever draw that much) for the HD 6670 is 58 watts! http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_6670/20.html

    How old is that system?

    Edit: Okay, I'm confused. The model number for the motherboard that you gave points to an AM2/DDR2 motherboard and you are saying that you are using DDR3 DIMM's
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  24. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Tell wizard to get google to give me the results first instead of tomshare then. lol
  25. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    The only thing you change was the PSU & add a 6670 card right?

    So the problem must be one of these two , being new doesn't mean it's without defects & anything can go wrong in the assembly line/parts...

    Here a few things you can check

    1- make sure you didn't forget to plug in the x4 pins 12v on the mobo (see pic)

    2- try another PSU (your old one)

    3- try another GC or your on-board video (with the new PSU)

    4- see if you got an update Bios for the mobo , it meant help?

    5- unplug all USB & accessory that you don't need to boot/run your PC (like printer , scanner , I-pod , etc...)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
    JrRacinFan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page