1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New videocard

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by EHLW1993, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. EHLW1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi guys,

    I'm looking for a new videocard but I've totally no idea what kind of videocards are possible with my system specs. I'm a totally dumbass if it goes about videocards so maybe you can help me.

    Mostly I play FSX and ArmA 2, not the lightest games and my specs are:
    Processor intel Q8200 quad core 2,33/2,34 GHz
    Ram memory 4GB
    Videocard for now GT220 1024MB
    Windows 7

    I hope you can help me with finding a better card. I don't want too spend too much money

    Grtz Guido
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Power supply model and display being used also please.
     
  3. Danielbleker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Holland
    How much power can your power supply deliver and how many monitors do you use at what resolution. ;)
     
  4. EHLW1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey,

    Uhm power supply? It's just connected to 220-230V there is nothing between it, only a block so I can plug in multiple plugs. The monitor I'm using is an SyncMaster 2494HM. Resolution 1920x1080

    Grtz
     
  5. Danielbleker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Holland
    How many Watts guido ;)
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok, best for you to not upgrade your video card then if you cannot provide proper information to get the answer you seek. I can find you a video card based on budget but need to know what kinda of max power draw I am looking at. Get me?

    @DanielBleker

    Wattage isnt the key. A power supply can be labeled as 500W but really can only "do" 300W.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,759 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    Hi Guido. If you open the case to your PC you will see a box from where cables go into the motherboard, your videocard, HDD and what you have there inside. That is the power supply.
    Read what's written on it.
     
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Sounds like a power supply is needed for better graphics card.
     
  9. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    You are going to really struggle at that resolution because of the CPU. It's not bad CPU for a veteran, but its clocked very low at only 2.33Ghz. Judging from your previous posts you seem too inexperienced for me to recommend overclocking it either.

    What jumps out right away also is your RAM. 4GB is pushing it at that resolution. Upgrade to 8GBs of RAM and your video card at the same time!

    Looks like this http://microdream.co.uk/liteon-ps-5301-08hf-5188-2627-atx-300w-psu-power-supply.html

    It's really not a good PSU. I would recommend upgrading it to something with a stronger brand i.e. Antec, OCZ, Corsair, Thermaltake etc.

    Push for something with atleast 550-600W+, 30A per 12v rail, and 70% efficiency.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
  10. EHLW1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Found it...

    model: PS-5301-08HF
    DC output 300W
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  11. St.Alia-Of-The-Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    195 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    300w is not enough at all for a decent graphics card
    like all OEM crap, you have to replace it with a better one
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Your best bet then would be to stick with a card that does not require external power. Thinking AMD HD6670.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  13. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    In my honest opinion you need to upgrade the entire computer altogether if you are looking for a significant performance increase.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    I think he is in the UK. PS-5301-08HF model PSUs are typically sold in England.

    I think he can push for a much better video card and PSU for £160

    ATI 6870 £109
    PowerColor HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Dual Mini.. ...


    AND

    Thermaltake TR2 600 Non Modular 600W ATX 80+ Bronze £50

    Thermaltake TR2 600 Non Modular 600W ATX 80+ Bronz...

    OR

    Antec VP 550W PSU £50
    Antec VP 550W PSU | Ebuyer.com

    Maybe add another £40 for additional 4GB of RAM. Bringing the total to £200
    Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 Memory Ki... (Assuming the OPs mobo supports DDR2)
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Agreed on all points, guess it all just depends on budget really.

    @Jack1n

    You're not being quite helpful. The OP can get a video card and use it in the "upgrade" that you're speaking of.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  16. EHLW1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey,

    @Dent1
    No I'm not in the UK ;) Live in the netherlands
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  17. Danielbleker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Holland
    Guido,

    The card that Dent stated is an ATI card.
    I read that you currently have a Nvidia card.
    Would you rather have a Nvidia one?
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
    Dent1 says thanks.
  18. EHLW1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey Daniël,

    Well Nvidia is better for FSX. The clouds will be better and currently the Nvidia card is doing well with clouds, so yeah I like Nvidia more.
     
  19. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Fanboy much?

    It really depends on the ATI card and the Nvidia card in question.

    Don't worry about whether it's Nvidia or ATI. Makes no difference. Get the fastest and cheapest card you can find irrespective of manufacturer.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
    dude12564 says thanks.
  20. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Ati is considerbly better performance wise in the sub 200$ market at the moment(nvidia usually would have better power consumption,cooler temps and will run quieter).
     
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Some games favour one over the other, so I think we better look hard at the game(s) in question before passing any judgement. Arma II favours AMD as far as I can see, so that is one game to AMD's favour.

    Also, sometimes its a major hassle changing graphics from one manufacturer to another (beyond many, I would add) that it might be safer to stick with same brand.
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,128 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    To be Entirely honest! You need to upgrade power supply before getting a video card.

    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2....

    Itll be better in the long run. More stable power, and more of it.

    I've been playing FSX for years and it favors Nvidia so I would look at a GTX660ti.

    MSI N660Ti PE 2GD5 GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB 192-bit ...

    get over it. FSX does favor Nvidia. Im not sure what the clouds have to do with anything though. FSX also likes VERY fast CPUs at over 4.0GHZ. Ive been playing the game for years, and from my experience my best performance has been with Nvidia.
     
  23. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    a 660ti would be overkill for the rest of his system as it will be bottlenecked,which is why i suggested a complete system upgrade,as far as upgrading only the video card i think that powercolor 6870 would be a great choise.
     
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,128 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It won't bottleneck the whole system. the Q8200 is not a bad chip. He could overclock it to like 3.0ghz with ease to relieve ANY sort of bottle neck with better cooling, and that PSU would handle it better and be more stable. Now if he was running like a dual core Core 2 Duo id be worried. Seems like people really like the throw the word bottleneck around these days.
     
  25. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,806 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    I think you need to reread the thread, Phenom.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page