1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new water cooling install some question

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by sy5tem, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    hello,

    i just install a new ec system and i used EK fc-6970 on my XFX 6950 before on original fans the card all 3 sensor " gpu/memory/shaders" i think... anyway gpu would let say be at 50C and other 2 sensors would be at 52.

    Now with water i can get up to 15C difference between GPU and other 2 sensors! does this mean that the new watercooling heatsink is not properly sitting? like did i need to screw the 4 screw around the GPU the exact same number of turn?

    thank you
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,555 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    can you upload a shot from the GPU-z sensor tab so we can see what is going on?
     
  3. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    i was using my G15 with LCDstudio to watch temp, i am gona open GPU-Z and make a printscreen then.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2011
  4. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    here is the highest :
    [​IMG]

    and here are normal view:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,555 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    I assume you put thermal pads on the area over the PWM and such when you installed the block?

    It looks normal to me, at idle they are all the same (if it was incorrect my guess is they would get really hot), at load the PWM can be higher than the core, depends on the card I would guess.
     
    sy5tem says thanks.
  6. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Looks good to me.

    The point is on your Keyboard, before you installed watercooling, all the temps were much higher, but closer together. This is because on the stock cooler the GPU ran hotter and had an impact on every other component. Now you are dissipating heat so much fast the GPU can not heat up the entire waterblock to increase the temps of the other components as it did with the stock air cooler.

    Once you run under load for a long time and you reach heat saturation all the temps will normalize.
     
    sy5tem says thanks.
  7. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    alright both your answer make a lot sense! since im new to WC im checking everything like a mad men ., hell i spend more time reading forums atm then play game :p

    thank you for the info
     
  8. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    your load temps are lower then my idle temps :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  9. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
  10. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Wow so your running the CPU and Video card off the H50?

    I'm actually a little surprised it is able to keep up... You got the bug now though. Wont be long before you upgrade the radiator then you will want a better CPU block which will require a new pump and reservoir.

    That is almost the exact way I got into water cooling. Once you go water there is no going back. :)
     
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Its not an H50 he bought a Rasa kit plus GPU block and another rad. Where'd you get that?
     
  12. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    His system specs. Under Avatar.

    But to my point then. He has the bug. Upgraded from the H50 to the Rasa.

    I couldn't imagine the H50 being able to keep up with that and was amazed. Figured he must have had 3x200mm Leaf blower fans on it. LOL.
     
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ah. Old info I guess.
     
  14. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    LOL@Zen yes i have and airplane exhaust pushing fresh air in my H50 rad!!!! LOL i will update SIG i upgrade 2 day ago! forgot about forum sig

    Yes the H50 really gave me the bug bite for water! lol and atm i just changed my power supply because my OCZ fan was the only thing i could hear in my computer! now with the new antec tp-750 its dead silent! and when i play game i just raise fan speed on me CM sniper and i get load temp of 50C !!! woot
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page