1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new @ Watercooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by richjordan255, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Hi guys

    Im new to watercooling but i may be about 2 get hold of my first watercooling kit for my q6600, its second hand but in full working order, the guy is only gettin rid of it because he doesnt oc and feels its a lil too OTT for him.

    1. How easy is it 2 maintain watercooling ie refill top up

    2. my q6600 currently runs @ 3.15ghz on air, in your opinions do you think i could go higher with wc.

    many thanks
  2. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    it all matters what the water cooling setup is?
  3. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    how do you mean
  4. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    older q6600 chips oc better afaik. Mine tops out at about 3.8 on water...some go as far as 4GHz. WC will only help if the temp is getting high. what temps u get at 3.1?
    richjordan255 says thanks.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
    Once it's setup and leak tested, the only maintenece you will need to do is use compressed air to blow the dust out of the radiator. Perhaps change the water every six months or so. Of course you will get better temperatures than air, but it depends on the setup.
    richjordan255 says thanks.
  6. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    richjordan255 says thanks.
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Maintaining water cooling is a lot more than refilling. Common issues occur that will force you to take the whole thing apart such as: bacterial/plant growth (distilled water is preferred), buildup of special liquid coolants, and changes to the water cooling loop design.

    If you went with a more beefy air cooling method you might not even have to go water cooling. Water cooling is to pamper your chip/device.
    richjordan255 says thanks.
  8. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    i get about 40*c thats the lowest stable temp i can get i have tried everythin
  9. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    40c load isnt high...if that is ur load temp
  10. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK

    thats my idle temp :(
  11. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    what are load temps?
  12. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    between 55 - 60 :( i just feel uncomfortable with it
  13. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Have you thought about a TRUE?
  14. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    mine are about 54 on water.

    the h20 220 compact would serve you well, but dont expect miracles :) if i was gonna buy one id wanna be sure of availability of a lga1366 bracket for future use
    richjordan255 says thanks.
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That might handle the i7 at stock but you couldn't overclock an i7 with h2O 220 compact.
  16. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    whats a true ?
  17. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    an i7 is 45nm and clocks 4GHz+ on air....a 2x120mm rad will DESTROY any air cooler.

    Thermalright true 120 at a guess.
  18. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
  19. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    A Thermalright true 120 or 120 Extreme

    An i7 @ 4.2ghz can hit 68C on a swiftech apogee GTZ and Thermochill 120.3 under full load for 15 min. Don't be so quick to judge.
  20. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    pa120.3 is good for an 8c rise in water temp for 500w with good fans. That high temp is down to interface between cpu and block. Either that or the airflow accross the rad is terrible, or the rad is in the top of the case and is full of air...maybe high ambient temps too?
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Dude you're in waaaaay over your head. The water temps are 23C under load (meaning the temperature of the water itself). The chip still gets as hot as 68C. Please don't argue this here. The i7 920@ 1.4v 4.2ghz draws 300W of power from the wall and 28+amps while under load.
  22. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    635 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    i just got my "G-powerII pro" yesterday and my temps are 30-34c idle and 46c@100%load all of that on 3375MHz.
  23. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    is it simple enough then to change the water
  24. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Just a small conversion. 12v to 1.4v means that the power management of the motherboard is converting that 300W into 300W @ 215 amps
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
    It depends how the loop is setup. If there is a hose running at the low point of the loop you can disconnect and empty into a container, it's rather easy. On the other hand, you might just have to remove all of your hardware in the case to do it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page