1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Windows 7 Bulldozer Patches Available.

Discussion in 'News' started by TheMailMan78, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Guys this was a prerelease again you need to wait for the third patch which will increase performance by 400% in workloads that involve quantum unreality
    ensabrenoir says thanks.
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You're not seeing a direct link, because being a hotfix, it needs to be specifically requested from Microsoft - you have to click the link at the top of their hotfix page, called "View and request hotfix downloads". You then have to click Yes to an agreement :rolleyes: and it then takes you to a page where you can request the hotfix, by giving them your email address and answering the captcha.

    What a bother.

    Alternatively, just grab it off Regeneration's link, which you've seen.

    10% improvement might be quite disappointing, but still, it's better than nothing.
  3. neko77025

    neko77025

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    its way more then just .1% 7.9 is max so ... .1 is alot


    you refresh your score any time soon .. as new stuff somes out old stuff goes down.




    On another note I am seeing some improvements but nothing big.
    have 8150 @ 4400mhz
  4. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
    I see 10% in all most nothing...10% must be the "but its up to " number.

    I am re-installing and testing as Idid with the 1st part of the patch....novabench was 11% improvement BTW, just on messing about testing.

    Lost 13% on PC mark right enough....a re-install and test will tell me more but truth be told it feels no faster, benchmarks mean little in the real world....will bench a few converting files and some winrar....real world stuff....I would do it now but re-installing is a pest


    I get 7.7 on processor ...in fact 7.7 through the board until my SSD gives me 7.3.....raid0 soon right enough.
  5. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
    How can you say such things....after my re-install I will be looking @ a 18.7 WEI, its not hard to see how great this patch will be.

    If you have 8 cores working flawlessly together is must be better than sliced bread, Tricky me old son this patch is like a cure it all ....just wait, intels benchmarks are blown away by such a patch.

    I mean it must be who can argue with hope.

    My WEI is stock BTW, @ 5 GHz is gets 7.9, it would be more but AMD didnt want to frighten the intel lads.

    PS anyone want to buy a super powerful FX 8120..... its almost as good as intel but without the "being good" part.
    Cant argue with patches improving just about nothing, will swap for a cute micro pig and a plate of ham sandwiches.
    Damn_Smooth and qubit say thanks.
  6. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    my i7 930 has the same score and it's almost 2 years old:p
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  7. erek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
  8. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
  9. mdbrotha03

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    128 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    I'm getting 7.6.
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Heck, I'm getting 9 on my old E8500 and a cheap graphics card!
  11. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I get 7.6 on my 930 @ 3.66GHz. And it's not 2 years old, we should consider when Nehalem came out (2008), so a 4 year old CPU is still trading blows with a '8-core' CPU. Bulldozer is still a massive fail. It's worse than Netburst.
    trickson says thanks.
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Well you have to understand Bulldozer was going to come out on 45nm....All 8-cores nothing disabled

    and it shows somewhat....

    http://www.spec.org/cpu2006/results/res2011q4/cpu2006-20111121-19030.html
    http://www.spec.org/cpu2006/results/res2011q1/cpu2006-20110211-14447.html

    O6238 @ 2.6GHz(2.9GHz ACTC) 24C/24T: SPECint_Rate: 414, 365(Base)
    X5690 @ 3.467GHz 12C/24T: SPECint_Rate: 419, 389(Base)

    http://www.spec.org/cpu2006/results/res2011q4/cpu2006-20111121-19042.html
    http://www.spec.org/cpu2006/results/res2011q1/cpu2006-20110211-14445.html

    O6238: SPECfp_Rate: 340, 318(Base)
    X5690: SPECfp_Rate: 272, 265(Base)

    In these benchmarks, this is comparing Interlagos 24C vs Westmere 24T both on 32nm(I can't compare Sandy Bridge-E to Interlagos yet because there is no Sandy Bridge-E 2P LGA2011 yet)

    What happened was GlobalFoundries cut the plug for 45nm HKMG SOI and started rushing for 32nm HKMG SOI eSiGe
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    We have a failure to communicate.
    A for this 2 part patch, boosting L4D2 is all good. :D
  14. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Can it play Starcraft 2? Or any other game that isn't GPU limited? And how are those minimum FPS doing?

    Just kidding, I already know the answer. I would've put this board to use already if it could.
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I miss my K6-2 450......
    Millennium and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  16. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    ... i miss my k6-2 500 i had OC to 550. 768mb ram... a couple voodoo IIs... good times. also miss my athlon xp 2500.
    More than 25k PPD
  17. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    just i know that the first lga1366 cpus came out in late 2008. we had lots of cpus i7 920, 920 D0, 930, 940, 950, 965, 980, 990:Dmy cpu isn't oced so that must be why i get a score of 7.5
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  18. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    lol i doubt that, my pII 955 runs BF3 on ultra. i think the BD would handle it too.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  19. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    all i can say about the AMD FX-8150, it runs all current Programs / Games (max / ultra) fine, and if a patch could fix some compatible issues to the OS / thread handling thats also fine to me ........

    dunno why all you guys bitchn about, now i can run "......."
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,574 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    The only benchmarks I run was the ones included in AIDA64 Extreme (1.85.1600) and there was no real difference there. Numbers attached if anyone is interested.

    Attached Files:

  21. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    It actually handles BF3 fine. BF3 is GPU limited.

    [​IMG]
    Horrux, trickson, niko084 and 4 others say thanks.
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The patch makes no difference as far as your benchmarks.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  23. imitation

    imitation New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    First of all, 7.4 to 7.5 is not .1%. Secondly, the Windows score is non-linear. To gain 1 (one) point, you 50% more performance, according to Microsoft.
    So the score indicates 0-10% more performance. Not too shabby for a patch!
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  24. omagic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well i only had time to check Crysis CPU Benchmark
    Before 47 fps
    After 56 fps

    So quite nice boost. Ill try some more games after the work

    FX-8120 8GB RAM HD6870
    1680x1050 all maxed
    n0tiert says thanks.
  25. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    too bad for amd. intels cpus are still faster and cost less. amd screwed up good:D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page