1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New XFX 6870

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SpeedsticK, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    I just got the XFX 6870 less than 2 hours ago from a black friday deal at my Frys
    Electronics. The 6870 is replacing my 2 XFX radeon 5770's and my god, it is an amazing improvement, no microstutter, scaling issues are easily fixed, it may score a tad bit
    lower in benchmarks but IMO it feels much better in gaming, considering the stutters
    i was getting before are gone :D

    This really came out of nowhere, but if anyone is thinking of getting one, i have to say,
    its worth it. :)
     
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Nice one!

    Don't forget to change your system specs. ;)

    What d'you plan on doing with your 5770's?
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,556
    Yup. Single card solution FTW.
     
  4. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    I was planning on giving one of them to my cousin Kc, whos ATI 4850 i made a thread about because it was having horrible heat problems, he was hitting 100'C in WoW XD.
    So one to him, and for my friend in Australia, i sent him the other for christmas. i built his computer with an Nvidia 8600, so heres an upgrade for his Quad Core.

    And i also have an extra Nvidia GT240 here, i was wondering if there was a guide anywhere that i could use to put it in along with my 6870 for Physx
     
  5. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,306 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,530
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    SpeedsticK and 20mmrain say thanks.
  6. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    Ah ok sick, Thx, right now i have my 6870 installed to try a few benchmarks, but i need to go frys electronics and get a new heatsink and fan for the Gt240
     
  7. SpeedsticK

    SpeedsticK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
    Ok i did everything, everything worked pretty good, but when i open GPU-Z i get it saying the nvidia GT240 doesnt have Physx enabled
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Glad to see that you like your new HD6870, they are a great bang for buck card:toast:
     
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Awesome Man WTG on the purchase I feel it necessary to invite you to the XFX 6870 Club..... We should get jackets! LOL

    [​IMG]

    Even when you get two.... I will tell you that the microstutter is really not all that bad with these cards and Current 10.10e Drivers.


    Oh yeah and thanks man I was planning on doing the same thing!!! Although mainly not for my benches considering I already have a GPU score of 27k to 28k At stock speeds.
     

    Attached Files:

    • __1.jpg
      __1.jpg
      File size:
      113.8 KB
      Views:
      1,178
  10. Tyrael

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    274 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    That is one weird photo... it really is!

    Why are you using 2 x ATi Radeon Card with SLI compatible motherboard? Its just weird...
     
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Your comment is weird:wtf::wtf::wtf:
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Buddy Buddy you really need to do your research. The EVGA P55 SLI Motherboard is a P55 Chip set. Meaning.... it is a Intel Chip set not a Nvidia Chip set.

    That is like saying why are you using a ASUS P7F7-E WS Super Computer because it is a SLI Board?

    Dude this board is capable of using SLI yes. But it is also capable of using Crossfire. Actually for awhile even EVGA was trying to partner up with ATI. ATI Refused them. (Not that this is the reason)

    The whole reason is that it is a Intel Chip set and the way the new Motherboards are!

    If you would do your research you would know that All EVGA P55 Boards and X58 boards not only Support SLI/ Nvidia + PhysX but also ATI Crossfire.

    The board works perfect for both.... this is the second time I have had to correct you because you were speaking on something you don't know about. It wouldn't be such a big deal but it is the way you say it.

    you should make double sure on what your saying before you try to poke fun!
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010
    Lionheart says thanks.
  13. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    6870 big improvement over 4890?

    Im only playing BC2
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page