1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

newb question about system temp

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by naseltzer, Feb 19, 2006.

1. naseltzer New Member

Thanks Received:
    Sorry for a total asking a total noob question, but what is the "system temp?" is that the ambient temperature inside the case, or is that the northbridge temp? Something else? oh, also what is ACPI sensor temp?

Thanks for taking a moment to answer my question.

2. zekrahminator

zekrahminator McLovin

Thanks Received:
    well, to be honest with you, I dont even know what temp it represents! I'd BET it's the ambient temperature, but if you're OCing, play it safe and assume its the CPU temp. do you have a screenshot of whatever is telling you you're "system temp"?

3. G.T

G.T New Member

Thanks Received:
    I'd say system temp usually indicates CPU temp or Motherboard temp depending what App or prog is giving it you. Or how you have your sensors wired.

On my Rig most things relating to System temp refer to my MOBO temp.

"also what is ACPI sensor temp?"

Google seems to think in general it is some form of temp gauge system or the like, not 100% sure on that one sorry.

4. naseltzer New Member

Thanks Received:
    well, speedfan gives me several temps: cpu, system, acpi, and HD.

I'm confident that the cpu temp is,in fact, the cpu, temp, i'm actually concerned about the temp of my northbridge. I got a zalman passive sink on it, but i think the contact is all screwed up because i had to slide it slightly in order to fit my 7800gt. speedfan still reads "system temp" as 33, which sounds fine, but thats why i want to know.

N

Thanks for answering everybody, btw

5. zekrahminator

zekrahminator McLovin

Thanks Received:
    ohhh lol. I THINK that my NB fan speed would be fan speed 3...if there was a NB fan :p. I cant help you there, I'm sorry

6. trog100 New Member

Thanks Received: