1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Newbie with a X1950 pro needs ur help

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by deuse, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. deuse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK...first post and i am asking for help...lol


    Ok my specs are this

    asrock 775 dual vsta with duo 2, 1.8
    2 gig of super talent 667 ram

    X1950 pro pci-e

    the card is running good BUT i want to over clock the chip to what i had it
    before i installed the new card.

    In the bios i can Sync or Async the duo 2 chip.

    if i try Async and put the fsb up to 300hz(thats 2.1) the x1950 will lock up
    now and then.

    but if i use the syne and put it up to 300hz the PCI-E slot will go from 100(normal) to 117

    now will the higher 117 pci-e hurt the card ???
    it seams to run ok and not get any hotter (38 idle 60 full load)

    i can even overclock it using using the cat overclocker to 621/787
    and all is ok..i am just worried about the 117 on the PCI-E will do to the card..

    also i want to get a new cooler from artic..
    but my x1950 looks like a x1900GT with the fan by the dvi ports and not
    at the end of the card like i see on the net..

    which cooler would you masters got for...???


    thanks you for your time


    deuse
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,686 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    PCI-E is generally okay to 120, but that's getting close to the threshold. I run about 105, and I'm considering going back to 100 since I notice no difference. From my own and reading many other's tests on this issue there is no real gain in upping your PCI-E bus speed. It's rumored it helps to up it a little bit to have a stable OC on your vid card, but that's even debatable...different products, different vairables..

    I have the AC Accelero X2 cooler on my x1950pro, it is GREAT!! I love it, keeps my card cool and stays very quiet. The Zalman vf900 is also another popular and effective cooling solution.

    Do you have any way to lock your PCI-E bus speed? I am not a fan of those Asrock boards, I almost bought one, but I heard that they can be a real pain, and I am not familiar with your board. I'd recommend a different MB, but that may be out of the question. You may be limited due to compatability and limitations until you replace your mobo.

    PLus your card is running very cool if that's stock cooling, mine runs 36c idle, 52 load (avg 45c while gaming).
  3. deuse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Kursah

    yeh i can keep it at 100 by using Async in the bios,i only sync it when i overclock
    my duo2 chip cause its more stable...
    i think i will turn it down a bit at a time till i get it right..(the pci-e buss that is)
    it does run cool its got a copper heatsink on with a bit of ali on top..
    but as i say it looks the same as a X1900GT on the outside(fan to the left)

    but it says X1950 pro on it so !!!


    thanks for the info,and if any one else can help it would be great
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The fan on the X1900GT rev.2 is 100% identical to the X1950Pro.:p
  5. deuse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,686 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yep..but you have to get the kit with the extra heatsink for VMU's.
  7. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    why would you want to raise the pci-e bus? isn't it fast enough?
  8. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    DONT raise the PCI-E bus. Its just stupid you can destroy your GPU, the AcceleroX2 comes with the VRM heatspreader these days anyway. If you have a capacitor party X1950PRO, then the VRM heatspreader is useless.
  9. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,686 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Last I checked they still had 2 X2 options on the site for one kit for the 1950 with VRM spreader and one without. But my card came with one installed so I never had to worry about it. PCI-E bus can damage your GPU if you're not careful, generally from what I've heard, experienced and read 120 is the MAX, and usually not worth any noticable gain in performance. Some say if you bump it up you can get more stable OC's...but on the other end is that current cards don't even fully utilize what the PCI-E bus offers...either way it's best to lock it at 100 to be safe and stable.
  10. deuse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thnaks guys..

    the only reason i have the pci-e at a higher hz is that when i overclock my cpu
    the x1950 will lock up now and then,when i had a AGP 9800 in this mobo it did not do this.

    if i leave the PCI-E at 100hz and overclock my duo2 to 2.1(300mghz) and try to play a game
    after about 2 mins all the graphics go wirerd...like the floor goes away in F.E.A.R

    but..if i turn up the pci-e to 111hz it plays great i can even overclock the x1950 to
    621/786 and all is fine...

    maybe its becaus emy pci-e slot on this mobo is only 4x and not 16 ??

    i just dont understand why when i overclock the cpu and the pci-e is left at 100hz
    it just wont work ok......

    so..it sound like i hav to get a new mobo ???


    any one else like to take a shot at this ??
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,686 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    You'd be better off with a better motherboard for sure. But if you are stable at 111mhz on PCI-E that's within the supposed safe range...so the choice is yours. If you want better and more stable OC's you will need a better quality motherboard that was made for OC-ing. Such as a Gigabyte DS3 or Asus P5B (deluxe preferred) are two good and very popular examples.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page