1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[US] Newegg MSI Z97 U3 & Intel Pentium G3258K 100.00

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by OneMoar, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,494 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Location:
    Texas
    Well...........................................Im heading there asap!
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,941 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    There are some H97 and B85 boards that will overclock if you get your hands on the right Bios, RCoon has a few of them (the Bioses) and could tell you which ones to get, he recommended the Asus H97 Plus to me but there are a couple from MSI also.
     
  3. RealNeil

    RealNeil

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    536 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
    I wonder if his BIOS files will work for an ASUS H81I-Plus/CSM?

    However, the board in the deal I just mentioned is a Z97 board.
     
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,769 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    I dont like microcenter for offering such good deals that I can't get. PSH.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. RealNeil

    RealNeil

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    536 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
    How did it go?
     
  6. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    968 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    stinger608, RealNeil and Tatty_One say thanks.
  7. RealNeil

    RealNeil

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    536 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
    ^^^Thanks for this info.^^^

    Will this work on other Intel CPU's?
     
  8. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    968 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    ThrottleStop has been around for years and tries to support as many Core i and Core 2 desktop and mobile CPUs as possible. The features it supports vary depending on what CPU you are running it on and how many of those features were left unlocked by the bios. It is always a work in progress.

    The overclocking and voltage features being added recently target Intel's 4th Generation CPUs like the Pentium G3258, the unlocked K series desktop CPUs and the mobile CPUs that support voltage adjustment or turbo overclocking.

    http://i.imgur.com/IyKzVNt.png

    It is not a very flashy program but it is extremely accurate at showing you exactly what your CPU is really doing internally. It is kept lean on purpose so CPU and memory usage is kept to a minimum. TechPowerUp has been kindly hosting version 6 for quite a while and as soon as I get around to hooking up the rest of the 4th Gen voltage features, version 7 will be proudly sporting the TechPowerUp logo too. :)

    [​IMG]
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  9. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Um, H81M-E with latest bios definiftely overclocks G3258.....its what Im using. Memory locked at 1333 though. But awesome, awesome value :)

    When is Throttlestop 7.0 released Uncle Webb, I can only see version 6?
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    Install as a service with config-able presets for said service would be useful :p
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,399 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,250
    Location:
    Oregon
    Wish I new this yesterday. BTW the G3258 is only capable of 1333
     
  12. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,494 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Location:
    Texas
    I yelled Demacia, charged the counter and ran into the section looking for the parts. One of the correct motherboards left in stock and snagged it. But only one sadly...
     
  13. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I'm aware its only capable of 1333 Mhz but it can easily run 2400Mhz, it's this specific board which won't allow you to try the memory at any higher than 1333, it's hard locked. Just thought it may help others if they decide to go for the board.
     
    Jetster says thanks.
  14. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,494 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Location:
    Texas
    Indeed, I built a rig and set it to 1600 while overclocking the processor as far as I could and it didn't even bat an eye at me.
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  15. RealNeil

    RealNeil

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    536 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
    I have a pair of 8GB 1600MHz sticks for mine. I hope that my motherboard will run it at full speed. (just checked and it says that it will)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page