1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Newly upgraded Desktop verses my laptop

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by newfielander, Aug 19, 2014.

  1. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi friends as some of you may know with your help , I just recently upgraded my desktop with a bunch of what I thought was great parts (over $1000.00) to make my editing life more enjoyable, well I'm shocked to find out after testing both the same editing projects on both my laptop and newly upgraded desktop ,my laptop rendered the project faster than my big desktop, I'm just wondering why. I was expecting my desktop to render the project twice as fast!
    Here are the specs on my laptop and desktop computers, can anyone explain to me why my laptop was faster. I used VideoStudio ProX7 on both test.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,512 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    simple i7 vs i5
    for gaming the desktop will be better
    because of the extra threads the laptop will be better at editing
    really is as simple as that
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  3. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,429 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,058
    The specs the OP posted are for a i7 in both his laptop and desktop.
     
    newfielander says thanks.
  4. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi 64K thanks for noticing that, (I didn't see it) and now we are getting off topic but yes the program that I used to gather all that info is saying my laptop is i7, but when I check the info manually by right clicking (My computer) it says its a i5. I'm now really confused. I used a program called PC wizard 2014 to gather that info.
    One Moar you mean I spent all that money trying to make a better computer for editing and my little laptop is better?? Really ?? Is there a way I can change the increase the "threads" on my Desktop?
     
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,512 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if it is indeed a i5 then no the only solution would be to return the i5 and get a i7
    open the start menu and in the search box type system information and go to file and click save then upload it here
    if its a k series processor you could overclock it and that would render the difference null
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  6. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,429 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,058
    OP if I understand you correctly you are saying your laptop has an i5 and your desktop has an i7 and yet your laptop rendered the project faster. Is that right? If so your desktop should render the project a good bit faster.
     
  7. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    334
    Location:
    NC
    What program are you using? Is it set to use the whole CPU on the desktop machine? Settings the same?
     
  8. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yes 64K your correct in what you're saying, and despite what that program said about my computer regarding its a i7 , its truly a i5 ,but yes it still renders the video faster
     
  9. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Guitarrassdeamor, your the big helper! I should have known but maybe I don't have my video card set right. The program I'm using right now is Corel Video Studio ProX7, and I know earlier versions had issues with using certain video cards, but I thought this version had that problem fix. So here are 3 pictures of the setting on my video cards control panel, can you guys help me with deciding how I should set the cards settings.
    Thank
     

    Attached Files:

  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,512 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    video cards have nothing todo with the problem rendering is cpu depend't unless your software supports hardware acceleration also even if it supports hardware acceleration most of the time no all things are accelerated
    so your options are the following
    1. replace the cpu with a i7
    2. overclock the i5 (4Ghz at least)

    but first I would check the settings of video studio pro and ensure hardware acceleration is enabled and functioning
    *if you aren't using VideoStudio pro X7 SP1 or newer then you won't have hardware acceleration ensure your version is current and that hardware acceleration is enabled in the options for your project
    http://www.videostudiopro.com/en/support/updates/?pgid=800161&ppid=8100044
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  11. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I just set my video card with settings as follows,
    (Picture 1 above ) I selected Geforce GTX 760 under the Physx settings.

    (Picture 2) I selected Use the advanced 3D image settings (which is picture 3)

    (Picture 3) I selected CUDA- GPUs as " Geforce GTX 760"
    Maximum pre- rendered frames as 4 (which was the highest)
    Multi-display/mixed-GPU acceleration , and Threaded optimization "on".
    There maybe more I can adjust on but I'm not sure so I rather leave it alone.

    The difference in timing now in rendering a clip that is 17:07 long the Laptop is 2 minutes and 18 seconds, my Desk top is 34 second!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  12. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    More so with compression, that's where CPU use can get really high, esp with on the fly compression, eg compressing a file while capturing it. Even then there are ways to lessen the load via writing the file to simultaneous drives (DxTory) and/or using one or more SSDs.

    For just rendering pre-captured footage though it's the compression algorithms that really sap the CPU.
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,512 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I am still wondering why the specs the op posted where completely wrong
     
  14. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    OneMoar they were only wrong for my laptop, (processor size) Here's the system info of my laptop for some strange reason the program I used show otherwise
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  15. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    AZ
    So you're saying a low power i5 on a standard SATA disk and onboard graphics rendered the project faster than a haswell I7 with a SSD and a 760?

    That really doesn't make any sense. Are both program and project stored on the ssd? Or was the project on one of the smaller auxiliary disks?

    @OneMoar , I have no idea what you're seeing, but your comments are not even close. The attachements look correct to me and match his system specs. Not sure why you thought the laptop was faster.
     
  16. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Before I done this, yogurt_21 my laptop was faster

    I set my video card with settings as follows,
    (Picture 1 above ) I selected Geforce GTX 760 under the Physx settings.

    (Picture 2) I selected Use the advanced 3D image settings (which is picture 3)

    (Picture 3) I selected CUDA- GPUs as " Geforce GTX 760"
    Maximum pre- rendered frames as 4 (which was the highest)
    Multi-display/mixed-GPU acceleration , and Threaded optimization "on".
    There maybe more I can adjust on but I'm not sure so I rather leave it alone.

    The difference in timing now in rendering a clip that is 17:07 long the Laptop is 2 minutes and 18 seconds, my Desk top is 34 second!!!!!
     
  17. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    AZ
    that's much better.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page