1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[FS][US] Newtekie1's Left Over Networking Stuff

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by newtekie1, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,715 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Rules First:
    • I'm open to offers. Don't be afraid to make me an offer, the worst that can happen is I say no.
    • I take Paypal only for payment.
    • I ship USPS First Class w/ Delivery Confirmation.
    • All prices include shipping unless otherwise stated.

    Now for the goods:

    Netgear Prosafe 16-PORT 10/100 Switch - $30
    http://www.netgear.com/Products/Switches/DesktopSwitches/FS116.aspx
    Geat switch, never a single problem with it. Auto-sensing ports, had served me well in many a LAN party.

    Netgear RangeMax Wireless Access Point WPN802 - $20
    http://www.netgear.com/Products/APs...ccessPoints/WPN802.aspx?detail=Specifications
    Used to provide wireless in my basement before I moved all my networking gear down there and upgraded my main access point's antennas. Worked great, gave a very good to excellent signal everyone in the basement.

    Linksys WRK54G Wireless G Router - $15 - Sold to theonedub
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124174
    Decent wireless router for a basic one or two wireless device network. Used at my parent's house to allow my laptop to connect to their DSL wirelessly. Never really had any problems with it. They've since upgraded to U-Verse and the 2wire gateway is good enough, so no need for this anymore.

    Two Linksys Wireless router antennas(I think they are 2 dBi) - $5 Each
    These use RP-TNC connectors, standard on most Linksys routers with external antennas. Not much I can say about these, standard antennas that come with Linksys routers. I upgraded to 7 dBi antennas and have no use for these.

    [​IMG]

    References:
    Heatware
    Ebay
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2010
    theonedub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    YGPM on that router, at that price it may be just what I need.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Solid router and easy to mod, I have one.


    Buy it dub! :)
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    ^ yeah I am pretty confident I will take it, just need a couple questions answered first :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Gota Ask-
    what is the different between an AP and the router.....

    Don't they do the same thing...

    Might be interested in both... If Dub does take the router...
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,715 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    A router takes one IP address(usually the public IP address assigned to you by your ISP) and shares it with multiple PCs, assigning each PC a private IP address for the internal network.

    An access point just converts the ethernet network into a wireless network. It does not assign IPs. It merely allows wireless devices(computers/game consoles/iphones/ipods/etc.) to connect to an already existing wired network.
    Zebeon says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    WRK Router is mine :D Thanks for the deal :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Dang it! ;)

    and from the pics, the AP does not have a place for an antenna does it!

    *Bump for you* :rockout:
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,715 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Correct, it uses an internal antenna.

    Bump.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,715 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Bump
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,715 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Bump

    Stuff is still available, make me offers guys. I'll take anything reasonable!
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page