1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nibitor overvolting... how do I do it?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    This is NOT a guide... I am asking for help on how to do it as I do not know for sure
    title says it all. I am slightly experianced with nibitor as I have used it to edit my stock bios to flash to higher clocks, however I want to try a little overvolting. Here's how I *think* it is done... PLEASE correct me if I am wrong.

    Step 1... go to the voltage table editor and drop down to entry 4 and set it to whatever you want your new voltage to be (in my case, I am increacing from 1.1 to 1.15)
    [​IMG]

    Step 2... to to the voltages tab, and from there stay in the "exact mode" tab and change the "extra" setting to your new voltage, in my case it is 1.15. In the 3D tab, change it so that it reads the new voltage as well (again 1.15).
    [​IMG]

    Step 3... go to the "VID mode" tab... you see that "voltage 4" is already set to 1.15... end of story. save your changes and flash
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2009
    FilipM says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    So we actually got bios overvolting on G92's now, great!
     
  3. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    so am I doing it right or what?? I already said this is not a guide, DO NOT GO BY IT unless you already know that I am right... and if you DO know that I am, in fact, right... tell me!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    NP mate, I was gonna think twice anyways
     
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    well tell me if I have done it correctly or not... because I would like to try to reach 800MHz core
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Ugh, whats the worst that can happen, brick my card with the flash? Ive flashed a 7800GT once but that was ages ago. Not that experienced with it but still dont know what to do
     
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    Am I doing this right or not? This is not a guide, this is me asking the rest of tpu to look over what I have done and tell me if I'm right or wrong... and if I am wrong... how do I correctly do it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,885 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That looks similar to what I did with my first GTX260 back in Summer 2008, maybe check my GTX thread OP out to compare changes you made to what I did. Pretty similar all-in-all, I'd be willing to give it a shot on that card. See if that extra .05v gives you enough to get to 800+!

    Though you might want to google 9800GT bios mods and see if others have tried it...you might have already. I'm definately interested in the results.

    :toast:
     
    hat says thanks.
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    well hell I guess I'll try... if I brick my card it's back to my 8600gts :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,829 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,391
    Save your old bios first, specs say you have an SLI board, you could flash back using the 8600 in the top slot and flash to the second. If things go wrong that is!
     
  11. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,195 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    347
    so... does this work for 8800gts'??
     
  12. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    He's still flashing I do believe. If it works with a 9800GT, it should work with any G92 gfx i think
     
  13. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    didn't work. Either it just doesn't work period or I edited the wrong voltage identifier. my temps did not increace at all. help me out guys!
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    What about the clocks could you get higher clocks stable?
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    no. as I said, it didn't work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Hmm, maybe it did work, but voltage is not enough? I've seen 9800GTX's been hardvolted to like 1.3V to get more out of them
     
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,885 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Double check your work in that particular ROM/BIN file, if it's reading right in Nibitor, and the checksum is ok (there's a place to test within nibitor), then you probably don't have the allowance to increase the voltage via bios and hardmodding ensues.

    :toast:
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,482 (5.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,522
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You are correct my friend. On anything G92, you must do a hardware voltmod. 1.1v is max the G92's can obtain via bios. :)
     
  19. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU-
    why does Nvidia do this...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,482 (5.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,522
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, sorry man, I know myself I would have loved to try to push 1.2v cuz Im just barely 800c/2000s gpu stable.
     
  21. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    I did the backup bios feature with nibitor and my edited voltages are still there. so something in the card is ignoring/overriding the bios...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,885 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I hope the hardmods aren't too bad to do on that card, my 9600GT was easy, I just complted a tiny circuit near the GPU on my 9600GT with one quick dab of solder, and voila, 1.3v and a nice OC up to 870/2175 from 800/1950 max on stock voltage, which was up from 700/1750 stock. That 9600GT had a decent zalman cooler on it from Palit, but I tossed an AC S1 on there and the turbo module (had that cooler on my 1950xtx at one point in time), dropped temps greatly (45C load from 67C load). I realise it's no 8800GT or GTS, but it's a good little card that reacted quite well to more voltage...I'm sure you would hit your goal and then some!

    Best of luck to ya if you go the hardmod route, I know on g92/94 chips it pays pretty well with a bump to 1.3v on most cards.

    :toast:
     
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,829 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,391
    My 9800GTX reads 1.15V to the core, but as discussed already passed that requires a pot mod. I asked largon a while back about a pencilmod and its just a no go on the 98's. with that voltage the GTX could run over 800MHz core.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,699 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,516
    Location:
    Ohio
    yeah well I'm not doing my first solder job my my 9800gt... funk that
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,829 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,391
    have you tried to set it to 1.15V and see if it takes? or is that where it sits now? Mine wasnt modded it was factory set from Zotac at that voltage.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)