1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nLite issue with new system

Discussion in 'General Software' started by AsRock, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,134 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,766
    Location:
    US
    nLite issue with new system ( is there another program other than nLite?)

    Well i thought i'd finally make a nLite CD for this system to be hit with a little problem.

    Problem is the drivers i want to add so i do not have to install them after OS is installed. Thing is the Drivers for this mobo do not have .inf files there fore it looks like you cannot add them

    Anyone know a possible way around this ?.


    Had no issue's with my ABit drivers as they come with .inf files.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  2. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Use drivergenius to create a backup of all the drivers you need in a folder
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I use nLite everytime I rebuild, but the one thing I don't do, is integrate the drivers. It causes more hassle than it solves a lot of the time.

    What I do is strip out all but the most basic drivers (basic video, keyboard, mouse, USB) and then have a USB stick or something with all the drivers I need for my hardware.

    With an nlite install, and doing the drivers, it's STILL quicker than installing Windows normally. My install of XP x64 takes 7 minutes after format.
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,134 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,766
    Location:
    US
    Not got $29 though. Any chance you know how many drivers your allowed without paying ?.


    I strip every thing out that i do not use with my other system ( well used too it's on vista now ). But never had any issue pre installing them was a good way to get my raid working from install start.
     
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I guess it's possible I've been doing it wrong lol, but I've always had issues, so I just stopped doing it.

    I can have my entire rig set up in less than 30 minutes with my install.
     
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,134 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,766
    Location:
    US
    Seems like i will have to try another method. as thats one of my main reasons of using nlite.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page