1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No ASUS motherboards meet my systems requirements, what do I do about this?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by germs, May 25, 2008.

  1. germs New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The main problem is that newegg doesn't have what I need, and I don't know where else to look.

    My system is going to be (not done yet, so only the parts that you need to know):

    4-5 HDDs (maybe 1-2 later most likely)
    SATA dvd drive
    8800 ultra (so long it blocks SATA ports on the only motherboard that would work for me)
    45nm q9450
    ddr3 1333 7-7-7-18 Gskill RAM

    This one looked great with tons of sweet features: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...S+P5K3+DELUXE%2fWIFI-AP+ATX+Intel+Motherboard
    The only problem is that my graphics card is far too long for that, at a little over 11 inches.

    I wanted to go with ASUS because I know, and have heard, that they are great for overclocking.

    That being said, what should I do? I'm planning on getting this system in around a month. The situation does not look good.
  2. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
  3. germs New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wow, I realize what I did wrong now. I hit the 1333/1066 button.

    Thanks man. Stupid mistake on my part.
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i know you found asus boards but keep Gigabyte in mind they are also great clockers and solid boards maybe even save you a few bucks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    the asus maximus extrem is a excellent board and overclocks way better than any gigabyte ever thought of, that said, check my system specs, I own one. I highly reccomend the maximus extreme, one of the best DDR3 boards if not the best.
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron

    Will second the Maximus Extreme, great board although is a bit expensive, but so then is DDR3 :ohwell:

    SATA ports are at right angle to board so will not interfere with your VGA and supports 45nm.

    EDIT: @Phil...nice setup you have,quite similar taste to myself,love the Lian Li and water setup.
  7. germs New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks all. I think I will go with the Maximus extreme... Now all that I have left to do is finsih reading the PSU sticky and then I'll have my system ready for critique :)

    At that point, I will probably make a post here so you I can get some feedback on it.
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i recommend a OCZ 850w or a PC power and cooling
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron

    Using a PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W PSU on my rig and very happy with it.A very solid single rail PSU.

    EDIT: what p_o_s said,although it's not modular.:)
  10. fafa21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    377 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    U.S.A. maine portland
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  12. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL


    MY ASS Before you say its better than a gigabyte why dont you show me? And ill show you whats better. Just because you have something dont mean its better than anything made. Ive had gigabyte boards way over 500fsb whats that asus do? 460-480?

    (EDIT) THAT said check my system specks and get a good mobo.

    I wanna know how many Gigabyte boards youve owned Phil?
    Last edited: May 25, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page