1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No clock change

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by Virren, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. Virren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    I have a ATI Radeon HD 3650 and I feel that it is a little bit to slow for Flightsimulator X so I thought that I should try to overclock it a little bit to see the difference. I downloaded ATITool and began by pressing "Find max core". It ran for about an hour but absolutly nothing happened to the core speed, neither up or down. Should I wait longer perhaps over night or is this card simply impossible to overclock? Typically when should the core speed start to change?

    System:
    AMD phenom X3 2.2 GHz
    ATI Radeon HD 3650 512MB DDR2
    4GB RAM DDR2
    Narra3-GL8E Motherboard
    GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 Chipset
    Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
    300W PSU (to low?)

    Cheers
    Victor
     
  2. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,613 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i don't recommend atitool anymore, it has some compatibility issues such as not recognizing my 7800GTX so i can't use it, which imo shows that the auther(though a great program) hasn't been working on it too much. Use rivatuner, and then Furmark for testing, i run furmark for about 15min if it is stable through that it should be okay but i also do a run of 3dmark06 afterwards to since it'll stop if there are any errors. every card is overclockable to some degree be it even 1mhz(though :laugh: that wouldn't make a difference). I recommend increasing core speed in 5mhz incremints and memory in 10mhz incremints, it's what i do and it works for me.
     
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I only recently got my first ATI card in many years and dont have much experience with it but i can say this. Dont use find MAX core on ATI Tool to overclock. From personal experience, i only use that utility for stability testing, thats all. I belive you can also overclock with it as well but what you have to do is move the core and mem slider by a few Mhz and then test for stability. Repeat until unstable. I believe the latest version 0.27b4 doesnt even support my Radeon 4870 as it doesnt even display the clocks but it should work with your card. The utilities i use to overclock are CCC and ATI Tray Tools, i would recomend them over ATI Tool.


    Edit: I just tested out RivaTuner 2.22 and it also worked with my card. I didnt recomend it earlier because back in september it didnt work with an HD 3450 on but now it seems to work with ATI cards but still offers limited functionality as compared to nvidia cards.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  4. Virren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wow, really fast response :p

    All right I'll have a look around and try those other programs
    Thanks
    victor
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page