1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No display on laptop, except safe mode

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Frick, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,765 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Hey all.

    I got this busted Packard Bell Easynote MX51 from my sister a while ago. It did some classical stuff, no image but fans spinning and all that. So i baked the motherboard and after that it worked!

    Until I install the graphic drivers. Now the screen is black, but the backlight is on and I can adjust the brightness. It works fin in safe mode.

    I'm pretty sure it's the GPU that is bad, but if you have other ideas as to why this is I'll be very grateful.

    Some specs:

    Turion x2 TL-50 1.6Ghz
    1GB DDR2
    Nforce 430/6100 chipset
    Geforce Go 6100 GPU

    and the rest of it.

    Thanks for looking!
     
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,892 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Singapore
    Did you try older drivers? Also can you try switching between external and internal display output a few times? It should be some key combination like "Fn+F5"
     
    Frick says thanks.
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Hmmm... If you had to bake it to make it go, I strongly suspect that the graphics chip is bad and won't work whatever you do; a wild goose chase for sure.

    I've had an onboard gigabit network card fail, but it was a weird failure: it appeared in Windows with the exclamation mark, but the driver that came on the CD failed to recognize it, a;though it used to recognize it before.

    It didn't matter what updated driver I put on, it refused to recognize it and it doesn't work to this day. I had to install a PCI network card in the end.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,932 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    save mode? have you tried uninstalled it from that
    bake, i dunno maybe works on vga card but for laptop i dunno, thats kinda risky
     
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,765 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Will try some different drivers, but I suspect it won't work.
     
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,878 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Before my 8600m GT went out, Windows wouldn't even load the driver and would just run it as a standard VGA device. I suspect your northbridge is still bad (GeForce 6100/6150 series became notorious for failing in laptops).
     
    Frick says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,765 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Maybe another bake will solve it? :p

    It doesn't really matter if it doesn't work though, it was broken to begin with, but it would sure be sweet if I can use it.


    BTW, was trying to install Win XP on it, but I'll try Vista as well just because.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2011
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I was kinda thinking that, but I didn't want to dare suggest it in case it ends up totally dead, lol.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,765 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Well it is kinda totally dead as I can't use it really. Well I can use it, but it's no fun using a laptop on 1024 x 768 and everything is slow as heck.

    I'll just tear it apart and do it all over. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page