1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No More Clean-Installs for Vista Upgrades

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    When users were upgrading to Windows XP, the procedure was that users could simply insert their old Windows 98 or Windows 2000 CD at the appropriate time during a clean install without the need for the old OS to be installed at the time. However, Microsoft has decided to change this for Vista, and now requires a fully installed and activated version of your old OS already on the machine. This comes as an attempt to prevent illegal use of upgrade CDs, but could be inconvenient and time consuming when the time comes to reinstall. The new procedure for a reinstall is as follows:
    • Install your old copy of Windows XP
    • Activate it either online or over the phone
    • Install Vista
    Source: DailyTech
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    they are trying like fook to stop the plethora of hooky os discs,but will it work?

    my xp is fully activated so it dont affect me,or anyone who has legit windows.personally,i think it is worth buying the os,its less messing around than trying to get it free.
  3. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Dunno why you'd buy an upgrade disc when an OEM copy is £77 (Home Premium)in the UK. And from what I've read here, you can change any component (including mobo) in your rig as long as you re-activate within 3 days.

    Personally, I've never felt the need to speak to Microsoft support. If you wait a couple of months the tech sites will be full of people with just as much knowledge of Vistas' foibles as MS tech monkeys. And if its anything like XP they'll give that knowledge for free....God bless 'em!
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i'm not gonna buy an upgrade,i've got my eye on a vista home premium oem this week.
  5. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    Granted vista is relatively cheap fromt he get go but i could see Microsoft moving onto micro transactions to download updates and patches t is pretty obvious it will be the next step.
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Kind of pointless really. Everyone figures a way around these things, it just takes time and Im sure hackers have been working feverishly on this for awhile. On that note, Ill bide my time to get Vista, when I have to, not because I want to. XP is fine for me.
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Wait a minute, didn't they do that with Win95 and was broken?
  8. Rodster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    155 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm a little confused here. I thought the Upgrade/Retail version allowed you to make unlimited hardware changes and Microsoft would reactivate your OS when there was a "Hash Mismatch" which triggers the re activation balloon.

    Now we find out that the upgrade will work only if you have installed a copy of XP on your drive. Will the OEM version allow unlimited upgrades or will we have to buy the "Full Retail" version? :confused:
  9. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    the thing is people who did used to use fake windows, will carry on doing so when a crack comes out, where as they might have gone for the new vista and paid but now they will think its going to cost loads for both xp and vista so why get the real thing!!!

    im still not sure about vista, im going to wait a few months and there is always problems in the first year!
  10. v-zero Guest

    Wow MS really have gone right out of their way to piss everybody off this round. What's next, a tax for not using MS peripherals?
  11. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    There is a reason the OEM version is magically $100 cheaper. Having all the hardware upgrade benefits of the RETAIL version for half the cost, is not it.
  12. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No, pirates and hackers have gone right out of their way to piss everybody off. MS didn't introduce windows with these anti-piracy features. They are protecting their products and interests, and have every right to do so.

    I still don't understand all of the anti-ms , anti-activation, my rights are not being upheld baloney. The majority of you brought this upon yourselves, so deal with it. You don't have any rights, you are licensing the software to be used on your computer, you don't own it, you never will, get over it.
  13. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Huh? Who said you have to buy both? This for people with legitimate copies of XP , who wish to install the upgrade version of Vista. Boohoo, the pirates can't upgrade their copy of XP. They can still go out and buy the full version of Vista without any problems.
  14. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    :rockout: and that's putting it in the real:rockout:
  15. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    wow that is one long procedure to do a format like that lol
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,702 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,702 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Yeah, that could be the case. I'll probably never know since I buy full OEM copies anyway, but I would still like to know how this works for sure out of curiosity.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I heard that you need some sort of key to install the oem version,what ever that is?
    Anyway s ill be going for the retail version (Home Premium) :)
  20. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I need to dig up a cheap vendor of retail home premiums.
  21. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Here in the UK home premium costs about three times as much as OEM. I'm not planning on getting three new PCs in the time Vista is around, so I think I will personally go for that when I upgrade. Can you change the hardware on a retail version as much as you want, or are you still limited?
  22. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Retail you can do whatever you want, OEM is locked down. I really don't feel like calling Microsoft everytime I change out a motherboard. Which is bound to happen a least a few times in the next 5 years.
  23. Rodster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    155 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does that include the Upgrade version as well as the Full version?
  24. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    OEM is OEM man, it's locked to the hardware it was installed on. That's why it's at least half the cost.
  25. Rodster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    155 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I know man, MS has confused the hell out of me, LOL. Ok let me ask the question another way. Is the Upgrade and Full versions both considered retail versions?:confused:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page