1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

no openCL support... whyyyy?????

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ilpalmare, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. ilpalmare New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I have catalyst 10.2 installed under windows vista.

    with my surprise, i have installed the new sdk. 2.01 stream.
    After the install and reboot the system, all diagnostic program or test
    give me the result NO OPEN CL support.

    Instead with the old sdk all ok. I have uninstalled 2.01 and put previous version but the problem persist.
    Someone have same problem???? :banghead:

    Matteo


    Graphic card: 4870 in crossfire mode
    Vista 32bit SP2
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I don't think the 4xxx series is OpenCL compatible. I'l do a quick search to confirm it.
     
  3. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    +1 DrPepper, I believe there is no OpenCL for the 4xxx series, I think it was part of the 5xxx series marketing.

    but I've been known to be incorrect :)
     
  4. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I can't find anything saying it is compatible or incompatible.

    EDIT: Wikipedia says support for R700 series is beta and will come later.
     
    Saakki and wolf say thanks.
  5. ilpalmare New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    the problem is that before installed the 2.01 sdk... i have the 2.0 beta4 version and all program.. like gpuz or gpucaps viewer say me that OPENCL is enable... i dont know where's the problem
     
  6. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Guys the HD 4800 series do support OpenCL, my 4850 shows up properly under GPU Capsviewer.
    It also runs the OpenCL GPU mode demos fine.
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I edited a post saying that it's in beta state but works. I assume the OP has uninstalled opencl altogether and tried again ?
     
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Seems like he got a software conflict doing so and messed up OpenCL.
     
  9. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    The HD4000 series are supported, but only minimally.

    AMD says that OpenCL will be mainly a HD5000 feature -> yes, that sucks.


    DirectX Compute Shader, however, will be fully compatible with any DX10, DX10.1 or DX11 cards.
     
  10. rockinrobstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Old thread but a high ranked page on Google so I'm going to reply.

    Open CL support was dropped by AMD for the Raedon HD 4xxx series with about the 12.8 drivers. (They baselined on OpenCL 1.1 which these cards don't support). Therefore if you want to use a 4xxx series card you need to use the version 12.4 drivers as they contain OpenCL 1.0 beta drivers (for bitcoin, folding at home etc).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page