1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No Picture on Boot

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MoonPig, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Hey,

    Was helping a mate overclock his PC. Got it clocked and to desktop, then restarted to change some more, but on that boot it failed to load any picture. The same with every boot attempt.

    Everything but that is running, and all cables are correct.

    What could it be?

    Thanks
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,086 (12.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,551
    When you say "failed to load any picture" do you mean that there is no display? Probablly best to post the specs of the system. What video card are they running? Is the overclock stable?
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  3. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Spec:

    E2200 (Trying 300 x 10 with 1.25)
    DFI LT X38-TR2
    2GB RAM
    nVidia 8800GT
    500GB HD
    500w PSU

    No picture means no display on the monitor, as in "No signal is being received"
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,788 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,317
    reset CMOS reboot load defaults in bios. My E2200 didnt do so well with bus speed at all.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    ok, he'll try it now.
     
  6. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Yea, worked. Back in BIOS. Thanks you two.

    Close thread please.
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,788 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,317
    BTW when you get a stable clock and all is good save the profile to bios in CMOS reloaded, that way if he wants to play around and thinks go crazy again, he has a profile loaded to boot when he needs to flash the CMOS.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page