1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No post beep and "please power down and connect the pcie power cables"

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Offdutygen, Jun 10, 2014.

  1. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    541 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    his cpu probably would work just clock down horribly, most gigabite boards protect vrm by throttling down the cpu to safe power draw depending on the vrm temps.. msi however (whoomph flames!)

    as for the beeps as mentioned you need a case speaker connected to the front pannel. they are small round things usually with 2 wires sticking out of them.
    thats not the same thing as the pc speakers you listen to music or play games with. all it does is bleep.
    although i do have a pc here that plays full sound through the case speaker can be useful at times.
     
    GhostRyder says thanks.
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,623 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,338
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Cards do exactly as you see if there's inadequate power. POST (Power On Self Test) is the motherboard checking internal components, CPU, and memory for basic functionality. The graphics card is initialized after POST so there are no beeps. BIOS manufacturers assumed (correctly) that the GPU can display its own, detailed error messages directly to the user. This is what you are seeing and it is explicitly telling you exactly what is wrong (inadequate power). Drop in a decent PSU (that SeaSonic linked to a while ago looked good) and you should be good to go.


    Nor would I. The 8-pin PCIE connectors could safely handle 300W each. Even if you assume it would only be loaded to 80% of that theoretical maximum, you're looking at 480w just for that graphics card. 650w is the minimum I would be comfortable with--and no cheap 650w either.

    Power supplies are most efficient at 50% load.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014
    Offdutygen says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,816 (5.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Texas
    Im confused as well as the problem seems to just be that the system is not hooked up enough on the GTX 770 from the PSU due to a lack of cables. Solution to that could be an adapter or buying a different PSU (Preferably a decent 500Watt that has 2 8pin PCI-E connectors) would fix the problems...

    You could try something from Corsair, Seasonic, or Thermaltake around the 500Watt range should suffice (Recommend for long last-ability a 600Watt) for your build (Depending on add on's, overclocking, etc) and give you enough connectors (look for a bronze rated or better). That Raidmax you have listed in your specs has only enough PCI-E's for a small GPU, which since you do not have the other hooked in it gives the mentioned error message.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,470 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Rochester area
    as I already said in my one of my posts the problem with the video card is lack of power connectors

    the comment me and others made on the board stands tho if he attempts to run that 8320 on that board then its either not gonna gonna run a full speed or the board is gonna give out
    TWO "PROBLEMS" ONE THREAD
    what about that is hard to comprehend
    yes he could make it work with just a new psu but if you are gonna fix the problem fix it once fix it right and then he won't need to deal with the possibility of something else breaking
    molex adapters are BAD their is a REASON that PCIe cards have there OWN power connectors

    vendors have been milking that poor 760G/880G chip-set in matx for years when AM3+ came out instead of fixing the power delivery to keep up with FX chips they simply slapped a BLACK am3+ socket on their and called it a day I can quite litterally name at least 4 boards from gigabyte that are identical to the op's - bios difference and socket or the ones with slightly better audio and usb 3 they are all based on the same basic layout as gigabytes first budget 760MATX board thE GA-78LM S2
    the Op already said he was gonna replace the motherboard and cpu no further comment is necessary until he posts back
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014
    Offdutygen and 95Viper say thanks.
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,623 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,338
    Location:
    IA, USA
    At first I thought no but then I researched it. FX-8320 is a 125w processor. The highest wattage Gigabyte lists is 95w. I worked with 78LMT-S3's bigger brother, the 78LMT-USB3 and Gigabyte explicitly mentions your processor as well as many other 125w processors. I don't think this is a coincidence--the 78LMT-S3 isn't prepared to handle >95w processors.

    It's probably working fine now but I highly suspect that motherboard isn't going to last as long as it should.
     
    OneMoar and Mussels say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jacques New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi its my first time posting on a forum. Im having problems with my pc not displaying when my pcie power is plugged into my graphic card.

    Specs
    H67MA-E35 B3
    I3 2120
    HD 7850 2gb oc gigabyte
    4gig ddr3
    550watt psu glacial power.

    i just upgraded the cpu and boom no more display. Got a new board and same problem, tried another card without pcie power and it worked.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page