1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No signal crash while gaming!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mafia97, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    hi guys,
    i was playing FIFA 13 today and after 30 mins of play my system crashed with no signal on monitor, same thing happened in sleeping dogs but in lesser time.
    My PSU is 5 months old only, and external self powered HDD dont work on my system.
    my voltages are in attachment.
    and all voltages seem low except +12v
    what could be the cause?

    Attached Files:

  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,954
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    What concerns me is the 5v being 4.5v if that reading is any accurate. It sounds like the 5v on your PSU is struggling which would impact USB and internal hard drives (since most drives and SSDs will use the 5v rail.) Also I'm not sure what temperatures are which here. If Temp2 is your CPU or Motherboard temp, you need to address that, because that is pretty high.
  3. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    here is what CPU temp show
    BTW i tried sleeping dogs again ( this time i attached my xbox controller on the motherboard ports not the front ports, i was able to play easily, and these temps are after gameply)

    EDIT: checked through bios , all the voltages are exact same as the pic and IOH temperature is 75c or 167f

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,954
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Have you tried running a linpack benchmark to see how high those temps really go? Not all games will fully tax a CPU so I would like to know if your machine is stable to begin with. OCCT should be able to fit the bill.

    OCCT Download

    Try running it for an hour and throw up the images it produces. I would give the CPU: Linpack a try for 30 minutes and see how it does.
  5. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    ok would do that, BTW i use external powered USB hub to use external HDD , rest USB devices work good on motherboard
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,954
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That *really* sounds like your power supply if your 5v is low.
  7. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    OCCT shutdown in 1min because core#0 reached max value 87c
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Can you post a screenshot of OpenHWMonitor instead.
  9. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    i think i got the problem, my system is overheating , in all test my system reached highest temp within 2 minutes
    but what to do about my PSU(it is not a old PSU) i changed my PSU because in last PSU also i faced similar problem.
    would cleaning and rewiring whole system help??
    EDIT : openHW monitor pic

    Attached Files:

  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Revert back to drivers off your manufacturer disc and go from there.
  11. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    on windows 8, they wont work.
  12. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    530 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    The PSU (which I'm assuming is the Corsair) is Covered for 5 years I believe, Look into that For sure before permanent damage is done. Iwonder if taking Some of the load off it Would possibly clear up the issue?? try removing the MSI 580 for a little while to see if that resolves the issue. (worth a shot till the cause is Found). Although that 750 should power that system with NO problem, give it a shot.

    Luckily TJ Maxx is So close to your House;)

    At least THAT'S good.
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    First I would remount the CPU HSF, after cleaning and reapplying TIM. Go from there.

    As for drivers for Win 8. They should work, run the troubleshooting mode.
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,520 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,950
    looks like the 5V is a bit wonky.

    5V may also cause an internal HDD to malfuntion.

    a similar problem happened to me today. my comp was shutting off now and then. today i figured it was an aging overheating drive!
  15. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Yup covered for 5 years , and i dont have a spare card to take the load off
  16. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Dont have any thermal paste, after removing the cooler i would need thermal paste right ??
    EDIT : could the motherboard be faulty and give less voltages?
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,520 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,950
    it could give faulty readings. 5V comes directly from the PSU with a bit of filtering on the motherboard in some cases.
  18. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    So how to be confirm its motherboard??
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Whoa, whoa. The only way to accurately test the rails is with a multimeter.
  20. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Fixed the power problem

    the problem was msi green powere genei, providing less then +5v and all problems related to power were caused.
    here are the pics.
    please do tell me how to reduce temperature , still the OCCT test doesnt go through , reaches max temp , i think my coller has collected lot of dust between its fins, rest system is preety clean.
    how to clean a stock cooler?

    Attached Files:

  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    As I said before, go buy thermal paste, get the HSF down, clean it (blow air either from a compressed air can, air compressor or use your lungs) apply TMU and put back the HSF.
  22. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    ok , any specific brand in thermal paste??
  23. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Seriously, reseat the heat sink. 87C is WAY too hot at default clocks. Software voltage monitoring is notoriously inaccurate. The only way to get an accurate voltage reading is a DMM (multimeter). Yes if you remove the cooler you have to apply new TIM(absolutely HAVE TO). Use Arctic Silver 5 (my personal favorite for years) or silver thermal compound (There are others). Apply it thin with a razor blade on CPU and HSF. Clean the CPU and heatsink really well tho... Remove the fan and clean it out (new dry paint brush works well) and wash the aluminum heatsink.
    mafia97 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page