1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No signal from custom pc to dell monitor

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by juicexct, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. juicexct New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just build a custom PC (specs below) for the first time. I connected my Dell SX2210 monitor to the PC using a VGA cable. I also tried HDMI and DVI. When it is plugged in, the monitor is briefly on, then says "entering power saving mode" and the power light on the monitor goes orange. When I press the menu buttons on the monitor a message pops up that reads "no signal is coming from the computer." The computer boots up, beeps, etc. All the case fans and the cpu fan are running, and the connection indicator lights on the motherboard are lit.

    My motherboard supports onboard graphics, but the CPU I'm using doesn't have them so I can't try plugging the monitor in there. I tried another monitor via VGA on the graphics card and it also said that there was no signal. I have no way of going into the BIOS to see if onboard graphics are enable or not and if that is what is causing the issue. I'm at a loss since I can't see anything the computer wants to do.


    SPECS:
    MSI H57M-ED65 LGA 1156 Intel H57 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
    MSI R5450-MD512H Radeon HD 5450 (Cedar) 512MB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
    Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBRM
    Corsair TX650W PSU
     
  2. AureliaRisley

    AureliaRisley New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    First of all, it sounds like your MSI Radeo HD 5450 Video card is bad. Do you have a friend that might possiblyl have another PCI Express video card you could borrow to use in its place just for a test?

    And secondly, regarding your comment about not being able to use the onboard graphics. That is not correct. You CAN plug your monitor into the onboard VGA port and it should work. There is no such issue with your CPU supporting or not supporting onboard graphics. The CPU is completely unrelated to that. Plug your monitor into the onboard VGA port and see what you get. Even if the onboard graphics were disabled, it would still function for the POST (Power On Self Test) and allow you to see the POST and the BIOS menu.

    But I think what it boils down to is that your video card is defective. I bet if you get a different video card, you will be just fine. The thing is, you really need to get ahold of another video card and swap them out to be sure. OR, take the MSI video card in that PC and put it into another PC somewhere and see if it works in that PC. It's just a process of elimination, but to me the trouble seems to be pointing to a faulty video card.
     
  3. cheezburger

    cheezburger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    largely possible the display port/dvi port and the control chip are dead during static. but gpu definitely fine. you just have to send back to change the port.
     
  4. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    what does this even mean? your cpu has nothing to do w/ onboard graphics i don't think? i have never owned a board that used them so maybe i'm wrong though. try plugging the monitor in there. it's very possible the bios is set to output via onboard vga and that's why your monitor says no signal.

    no offense but that's horrible advice. he tried 3 different connections.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2010
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,670 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Very possible indeed. Try this, sometimes you have to change this in BIOS before you can actually use the graphics card properly.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @ travva Aurelia & Frick

    With the new Intel cpu's & H5x boards, you must have a Clarkdale installed to utilize an onboard IGP as the integrated graphics core is on the cpu die not the board itself.

    @ juicexct

    You may need a bios update to support your i5 lynnfield chip. Know anyone with a clarkdale you can borrow?
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2010
    Frick says thanks.
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,670 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    D'oh! I keep forgetting about that. :(
     
  8. cheezburger

    cheezburger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    that means all i/o port are dead, probably even the port controller chip are dead too since he had tried 3 kind of adapter and no responds on screen. a broken gpu will leaving long bee sound when not respond on monitor but this client doesn't have bee sound which means the gpu is fine.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page