1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No signal in monitor

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by besthijacker, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am becoming more computer illiterate I think

    All I did was instal new heatsink involving taking out MB unscrew old heatsink..put MB back in and BAM! it should all work right? well I get no signal in my monitor

    I checked all the ram one by one and I get no signal each time

    Video card I have now is is ati 4650, decided to test my old geforce 7800GTX, still no luck
    I have also tried my old single core cpu in case i damaged my current cpu when I was installing new heatsink but still no signal in monitor

    PSU seems fine, all the fans go on, even fan on video cards goes on

    What else could it be? MB seems be the problem? perhaps did something to it while moving it around with my hands trying to get rid of old heatsink

    I been re-checking all the cables, also re-seating cpu with no luck..I dont know what could else it would be >>

    MB is GA-K8N Pro-SLI
     
  2. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    What type of CPU do you have? Fill out your specs in the User CP so we can help you more.

    Last time I had this problem, it was two snapped pins off my cpu.
     
  3. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think its there, well should be there. Edited page in control panel, limited usage of internet due phone not supporting java..anyway

    I tried putting my old single core cpu and I still would get not signal
     
  4. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    maybe you should connect a speaker to the main board and see if you get any of the bios beeps.
     
  5. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Beep test first. If no beeps emerge, start to panic :D

    No seriously, if no beeps emerge, double check the PC speaker. Nine out of ten problems at this stage should provide beeps.
    Otherwise check for possible shorts on the backside of the mobo (do you miss any screws?).
     
  6. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well I connected speakers to the case, and no sound no beeps

    I missed one screw but I just put it there and still no signal im monitor
     
  7. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,567 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    no beeps at means it doesn't POST, i would see if you can RMA the board. Or check every cable once more just to make sure.
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Alright, from here I suggest taking the motherboard out of the case, remove all power, and do a long CMOS reset by removing the battery. If you do this please post back with results.
     
  9. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    As in you lost a screw? If it's stuck between your motherboard and the motherboard tray, start praying and get it the heck out :D
     
  10. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For how long should I remove the battery? Yesterday I took it out for about 10 minutes but everything has been plugged in, will try removing all the power and then taking out again for more then 10 minutes
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'd say leave it overnight.
     
  12. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I disconnected all the sata drives, fans, usb cables..just left video card and swapt daul core cpu for my old single core CPU...and it worked, I can see BIOS

    when I look at my dual core, I see 2 pins completely bented so like its touching 2 other pins next to it, could that be the problem?
     
  13. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    99,9% certain! Bent pins are hell.
     
  14. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    They are! but it took me few minutes to make them straight and was able to boot with my dual core...will plug in everything one by one and see if this was cpu or something else ;p
     
  15. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    sounds like you didnt even have the cmos speaker connected... dont run it through yoru speakers like suggested earlier by Thackan, just use an internal one - i usually take one with me when going to repair a computer.. can make life so much easier :D

    i've had the same problem before... kinda, all i had to do was unplig everythign from the mobo n start peicing it together one by one... it worked in the end but anyways...

    also let us no the outcome after straightening yoru pins.

    BE VERY CAREFUL WITH YOUR PINS, they snap easier than you know... i found out the hard way on that, on a decent Pentium D dual core 3ghz :(
     
  16. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's just, there is no cmos speakers at all...Would the cables come from my case or something? or they look like normal speakers or something else?

    I was confused and shy to ask :/

    While looking at MB manual...I saw there are some speaker connectors next to the power, reset and hdd connectors..but there is no cables for them?
     
  17. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    don't ever be shy to ask, that's what we are here for, to help each other with our pc problems...

    yeah thats where the speaker jumpers are usually put on the motherboards, the speaker does look like a normal speaker in comparison, but bare in mind it will be a lot smaller, usually fits on the inside of the case/supplied with the case, not all do though one of mine didnt, but basically long story short, you know what jumpers look like im guessing so, by looking in yoru motherboard manual and possibly learnt from else where, anyways the speaker connects to those pins on the jumpers, usually black and red cable, ... connected basic ally how they would on a stereo... so i don't explain things simply... its just how i am :laugh: but i hope you get what i mean.
     
  18. besthijacker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    unless they come with case, there is no other way to get them? they sounds pretty nifty..

    Thanks for your kind help
     
  19. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    i guess you could make one if you had a spare speaker... obviously a small one!! and had a couple of jumper connectors you could cut the wire from somewhat down the cable, and then connect it to the speaker, i've never heard of anywhere that sells something like that, but then again i've never actually looked for anything like that, they are very simple things, surely you can get your hands on an old pc that is no use/broken etc etc... thats how i got mine, ripped it out of an old pc :)
     
  20. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Nowadays some motherboard have an on-board motherboard speaker. Do you hear even one beep when starting up?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page