1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No Signal Message on screen the goes Black?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kk, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My mother bought a Lenovo 500 gb SATA 2 Desktop H series computer 9/12/10 and 2 days ago the screen(Ativa) started saying "No Signal" then goes to black. I've checked all the cord, pins and the power strip. I Plugged my laptop to the monitor and her screen worked fine. Opened the hard drive and checked the seating of the ram and still nothing. I didn't see a video/graphics card inside and was told it's probably internal. The computer does come on and the fan is working.
    Please note: I have Zero computer knowledge and had to watch a YouTube video to get this far!
    Other info: Windows 7 Home Premium, Card reader: 16 in 1, Processor: AMD AthlonII x2215.

    Any ideas or help would be appreciated!
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    can you give us the exact model number of the PC?
     
    kk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Pooh! I thought I wrote it all down correctly, I'll call her now and see if she can tell me! Be back soon!
     
  4. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, would this be it? H215 ? She also read off the words: Graphics Intergrated.
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Is her computer just hibernating (shutting itself down because no one is using it)?
     
    kk says thanks.
  6. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Could be the issue. Just needs the power button pushed or space bar tapped.
    If it's not the case, seems the video card went bad.
     
  7. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, not hibernating, I turn it on and a few seconds later the "Ativa" logo pops up then the screen goes black with a little blue box that says, no signal. That stays up for 2 seconds, then everything goes black and moving the mouse or punching keys does nothing. I did plug her screen into a laptop and her screen was back to normal and worked perfectly.
    Just remembered: When I first looked at it, her mouse wasn't showing any life(no lights) but I switched the mouse out with a new one and it light up and I suppose was fine but I really couldn't check it because there was no screen to test it with.
     
  8. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If the video card is internally built in, can I buy one and fix it?
     
  9. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I can almost guarantee the video is bad.
    If there are expansion ports (which there should be) on the motherboard, you can buy one to plug in, yes.
     
    kk says thanks.
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Integrated graphics means it's part of the motherboard, so no you cannot replace that.
    If it's a new PC, I would contact tech support at the manufacturer.
     
  11. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone for your input and help, much appreciated!
     
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Our pleasure. We're here to help :toast:
    Let us know how it goes for you and we will be happy to answer any more questions that you may have about this issue (or any other for that matter).
     
    kk says thanks.
  13. kk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hot Dog! I will be back with my on personal computer woes that multiply daily but Mom comes first. Are you sharing that beer?
     
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Sure ... beer always make troubleshooting more enjoyable. lol
     
    kk says thanks.
  15. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,815 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,345
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    wha ha ha.. :D and it will helps when it aint work so you just smash it with the bottle :laugh: :laugh:

    yeah, usually its performance 'just like that' but before you take verdict on that how bout clearing bios, sometimes OEM stuff makes we go spinning :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page