1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No startup display,computer beeps, screams continuously

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by rohit.kohli, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. rohit.kohli New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Hi...

    Yesterday I was playing sleeping dogs(on extreme graphics quality) with my computer screaming with noise of fans(including GPU). After 10 mins, computer turned off suddenly with hard disk processing light blinking in power off state.
    I cleaned my computer, took out video card, RAM, cleaned the slots and put everything back. After starting computer, all the fans(including GPU fan) seemed to be running on full speed continuously with no display on screen. Usually on normal start-up this happens for 2-3 seconds, but this time it occurred continuously.
    I again switched off the computer, restarted and now fans behaved normal but started with 2 beeps initially, then followed by 3 monotonous beeps after regular intervals. And I still got no display on screen. This procedure of 2 initial beeps followed by 3 continuous beeps
    continued even if I detached and again attached RAM, one at a time.:confused:

    The following are my computer specifications which would help you to diagnose my problem:
    CPU:AMD FX-6100
    GPU:AMD HD Radeon 6950
    RAM:Corsair 8GB(2X4GB) 1600mghz
    MB:MSI 970A-G45
    HDD:WD 500GB
    PSU: CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 600W

    I would appreciate if you can look over my case and help me solving this issue...
     
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    i dont know why, but its a common misconception to buy cooler master PSUs over Corsair in india.

    cooler master makes pretty bad overpriced PSUs.
     
    rohit.kohli and Depth say thanks.
  5. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Clear the CMOS. Remove the battery. Short the terminals with a metal object. Reconnect battery. Check if the jumpers are attached properly. Also make sure all cables are firmly attached especially the graphics card power, VCore power and the 24 pin EATX power.
    Switch on the computer.
    If it still does not work, check the components one by one.
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  6. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,632 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,197
    Location:
    Mexico
    The only good CM PSUs are the Silent and Hybrid lines. With the Extremes and Elites you have to shave of about 60w from its stated wattage (the Elite 460 is a 400w unit for example).

    In this case the Extreme Power 550 is actually better than the 600. You can draw about 490w from the Extreme 550 without issues.
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Fireworks in your PC

    I would try another power supply if you have a working one handy. Those particular units are notorious for being some of the worst PSUs on the market. Johnny Guru said about their 750w unit, "not too bad for a 600 watt power supply, what... you say this is supposed to be a 750?" They're made by Seventeam, the Chinese company which makes most of Silverstone's units, if that tells you anything. I hope that's all it is and that it didn't take out any of your other expensive parts when it fried. It pays in the long run to get a decent PSU because a cheap one can fry your whole system, sometimes even start a fire. I don't know what's available in your area, but whatever you choose at least check out the reviews on the internet. Johnny Guru's reviewers do in-depth reviews with dis-assembly and real load tests, and they are absolutely ruthless when they find a marginal power supply with bogus claims about efficiency and power output. They also tell you who really makes it. Corsair's better units are made by Seasonic and Delta, both rock solid and known for reliability. Here's a site that breaks it all down: http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page541.htm
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  8. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,083 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I have a tagan 650w psu but the PSU started weakening recently so i changed it, i still have it in spare and rohit.kohli lives near my house.
    should we try that PSU
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  9. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    Worth a try and will at least rule it out if it's not the PSU, I suspect it might be as that review failed to deliver 500w and I would imagine if his sytem was overclocked and running SD on extreme it would be able to pull that kind of wattage.
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I would try anything, in that review they actually blew up the psu in the tests. He shouldn't use it anymore until another one is tested. Blown up psus can damage other components in a computer, particularly video cards.
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    if its already weakening, i wouldnt trust it anymore. That PSU is more like a 325 Watt now
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Just throwing it out there a 450w unit should have zero issues powering that rig.

    and the review on that unit fucking sucks

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    No shit the unit failed it is only rated to run 18A on the 12V rails each. The correct way to reach full load would have been to load the 3.3V and 5V rails correctly not continuing to overdraw the 12V rail. Just FYI seventeam as a whole makes some of the best units available for purchase...
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2012
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    wow, considering my GS600 pumps out 48Amps on the 12V rail... and costs 80$, is an epic win.
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    The coolermaster is an old design. Hence the very high 3.3 and 5v's
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    ahh so the local ones that have high 3.3s and 5s are old designs too!
    i thought that was just a marketing gimmick to increase wattage.

    i guess old pcs had a lot of 5V and 3.3V ICs
     
  16. jaydeee

    jaydeee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I am also thinking that it has something to do with the cooling system of your processor.
     
  17. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,083 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    We dont know his PSU has weakened or not, i have a spare tagan 650w psu that was weakening whichi replaced.
     
    rohit.kohli says thanks.
  18. rohit.kohli New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    thanks a lot for all your valuable replies...:) I would start by replacing PSU with mafia97 tomorrow and if that worked, i'll buy a new one...i just hope my other hardware peripherals are in good state... i would appreciate if you could suggest which PSU to buy according to my specs..
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    that machine with out an overclock only calls for 483 Watts Recommended, So Id say a 550 Watt would suffice or even a 600 even.

    Honestly with a beep code, it could mean CPU or ram personally.

    If a Machine powersup up then 10 minutes later shuts down that CPU could be overheating too, id double check the matting of the CPU heatsink to the CPU and if that fan is working properly. Still regardless get a better PSU- in the long run youll be thankful you did.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Yup machines with several laptop drives will draw heavier on the 5v rail than normal as well. The good thing about that seventeam built unit is it is not a group regulation unit so its really not all that bad. Just rated a little differently than modern units with massive 12V rails.

    Normally a unit even without a HSF will show the POST screen.

    After actually reading the OP. It screams bad memory. I would pull all the sticks out and test them one by one.

    If you do end up having to purchase a new powersupply look through this list it is from newegg but you should have some of the brands were you are from.

    Computer Hardware, Power Supplies, Power Supplies...
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2012
  21. rohit.kohli New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Hi..
    My problem still persists...
    I removed my RAMs and checked in other computer.. working
    Same goes with GPU, hard disk... working
    I also checked my power supply with mafia97's spare power supply(Tagan 600W)... same thing occurred which occurred with my power supply..
    I noticed 1 thing- when i remove circular cell on motherboard, near the PCI slot, and switch on my computer, all fans ran at full speed...
    And when i reinserted my cell and also replaced it with another cell, then beeping occurs(same 2 initial followed by 3 continuous beeps)...
    i tried clearing CMOS via jumper, but nothing seemed to change...
     
  22. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    It's starting to look like you've fried a capacitor on your mainboard. Maybe a local shop can repair it or at least confirm that it's bad. I don't trust MSI, the last board of theirs I bought (G41M-P26) would overheat the north bridge whenever stressing the system, and would freeze the system every time it got to 64c. MSI ignored my emails after the first one, and for 3 months whenever I played a game I had to turn on a Delta 5000 rpm fan pointing at the chipset - very loud and annoying, but it would stay under 52c with the fan blowing. Lesser fans had no effect. MSI has also been busted making exaggerated claims in their advertising. As for their "military class" parts, they must be WW2 surplus. I'm not impressed with MSI.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have blown two of MSI's lower end boards by OCing slightly. This board seems to be a middle class style board and should hold up to alittle abuse.

    *edit*

    well after looking this board up it seems to be designed with light duties in mind.

    [​IMG]
     
    Hood says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    This sounds like a possibility.

    Check each of your capacitors on your board (they are round cylindrical things attached by 2 solder points in the board, sticking up, some skinny, some fat.)

    If any of them look kinda exploded (puffed out from the sides or the top) then you are in luck because it is an easy fix. Also other devices like the graphics card.

    I will have to agree with everyone else, it looks like a power issue, and a power issue is the most common kind of no-boot with systems.
     
  25. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    That's pretty funny! It's like they're admitting the board is crap. It doesn't even mention overclocking so they're telling you that even at stock clocks, don't run certain software or the board will OVERHEAT! Pretty pathetic, and my opinion of MSI just dropped another notch, if that's possible. Thanks for the info, now I know it's not just me!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page