1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

no "stereo surround" setting in creative audio console under windows vista

Discussion in 'General Software' started by hat, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,166 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ohio
    I got windows vista for my gaming rig. Before I used to be able to go to the creative audio console and select stereo surround in the CMSS tab, but now all I get is off and CMSS. I used to get off, CMSS, CMSS2 and stereo surround in XP.

    I'm updating my specs now...

    updated specs are up
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,166 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hm, it appears Vista has it's own sound setup thing. Surround sound worked in Crysis so I'm happy.

    And Crysis DX10 rules... I am totally amazed at how well my system handles Crysis on "high" even in DX10 mode. I think I'll leave it this way.

    I like vista so far. Pretty good OS. I probably wouldn't go back to XP on a system I would deem vista ready (decent graphics card like a HD4830, 9800GT... at least 3GB RAM, and at least a dual core AMD at 2.6, Intel C2D at 2.2)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    "High" setting on Crysis isn't DX10. Only Very High is DX10.

    Crysis Warhead doesn't have a High setting, but can be run in either DX9 or DX10.

    And yeah, Vista's sound settings are stupid, you have to set it in both Windows, and your audio drivers settings.
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,166 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ohio
    Even on very high I got around 20FPS. I bet if I got another 9800gt I could just about double that figure.

    Nah... probably the next time I'll upgrade my video card is if something should happen where I can get another 9800gt or a better video card for dirt cheap, or when DX11 cards roll out.

    Anyways I'm pretty happy with Vista right now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Vista is a great OS, IMO better than XP, it's just some things are poorly implemented.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page