1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No temperature sensors.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by B1gg3stN00b, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I don't remember seeing anything about sensor temperatures in the packaging of any of my components, how do 3rd party programs such as speedfan measure the temperature of my components?
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Most of the time, a temperature sensor isn't a motherboard's selling point :p.

    Generally speaking, temp sensors are built in as a fail-safe. If the card detects that it is too hot, it will down-clock itself, or shut itself down, before it can kill itself. So, you see, it's more of a safety feature than an actual convenience.
     
  3. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Hmm.

    Well if I were interested in overclocking, a few more questions:
    How high do you think I could get my Athlon 6000+ X2 with an Acrtic Cooling Freezer Pro added on?

    Do PCI slot coolers help drastically lower video card temps or do you need an add-on fan for the card or something?

    Sorry for these n00b questions. Thanks if you can answer any of these!
     
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    agreed
     
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    PCI slot coolers can reduce your video card temps significantly, I actually have one lying around, $10 shipped :).

    Nobody can "gaurantee" overclocking results, but I'd say that if you really want to clock the crap out of something, I'd be looking at a "black edition" 5000+ or 6400+, with Freezer 64.

    Or, if you're on the cheap, any Athlon 64 with a Brisbane core ought to clock very nicely :).
     
    B1gg3stN00b says thanks.
  6. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    That's a good cooler you have. I don't know much about the overclocking capabilities of that chipset, but Asus boards generally do fairly well. I can get mine to 3.24 by 270 x 12 @ 1.45 volts no problems...I've seen them all the way up to 3.5 GHz on air.

    EDIT: By good cooler I meant the AC Freezer lol
     
  7. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Got a make/model on that cooler of yours?


    Also, I'm just curious, my current CPU idles at 37C, thought I need to do some serious wiring work.

    I'd like to get it down a bit further before even attempting to overclock.


    Also, since I got this mobo for a little over 50$ at the time, I'm probably getting a new one later on anyways, and gonna add another video card in running crossfire. My friend has a crossfire setup and runs World in Conflict in crazy high resolution on max settings and it's smooth as a whistle.
     
  8. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Tell ya what, have a look at all my used goodies, tell me if you see anything you like :).
     
  9. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    My cooler is the Zalman CNPS 9500 AM2. At stock, my CPU idles at 31*C, load of 45*C. The way I have it now, 250 x 12 1.4 volts, it idles at 35*C and load of 51*C.
     
  10. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835200019

    Looks like Newegg has the same cooler for cheaper :p

    I was actually looking to get that one, looks really cost effective and gets good ratings, didn't know whether to believe the stories of 5-10c videocard temp drops though.

    Stock my 2600 runs 39-42c at a medium load.
     
  11. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I have the Thermaltake, and who's going to get pissy over a single dollar :p.

    Anyways, I don't think that you should really get a PCI slot fan if your 2600 isn't getting hotter than 42*C. If you were hitting 60*C, then it would definitely be worth considering. But...you're not, so you should spend the $10 on...halloween candy :).
     
  12. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    not bad at all for an AMD, even at idle. AMD's tend to run quite a bit hotter than Intel CPUs. If you're planning on OC your CPU, it'd be a wise idea to research the CPU specifications - you can prob view this at AMD's website - so that you can get a good idea of what the CPU was designed to work with, and what they rate it's operating temperature at. Say, for instance, that they spec the vCore of the CPU to 1.4V, it's highly doubtful that you'll do any damage to it up to that 1.4V point. If they spec the CPU's highest temp at, say, 60C - you'd want to try and not allow the CPU to get that hot.

    Good luck with the air cooling, though! You can defi make an enormous difference with just better fans and coolers, without really having a need for liquid cooling. But, the better fans, though - the ones that move more air - do tend to be a bit loud, depending on brand. If you don't mind some extra noise, look for fans that move a ton of air. Generally, Evercool fans have high CFM ratings, but they can be a bit loud (especially the smaller ones).
     
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,958 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835114024&Tpk=azenx

    The fan closest to where the fan controller is sucks air out of the case, and the other one blows air twards the video card.

    On my video card with a flashed BIOS with clocks of 665/840/1100, the card idles around 66c and load 76+c in an open case with no case fans. With that fan, however, it idles around 45-50c and load around 65-68c :)

    no volt mods, just higher clocks. I'm thinking of trying 677/866 :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Hmmm, I've never had the kind of problem you're describing. My A64 3800 never got hotter than 44C load, and my current A64 X2 4800 runs at about 28C load.

    Socket A CPUs, on the other hand... :p.
     
  15. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I had some cheap Antec PCI cooler once, and it actually raised my overall temps, while only bringing down my vid card a very little bit. It was an odd design though...I think it sucked air from outside and blew it up on the card. That was back in the day when my case only had 2 80 mm fan slots though lol, so I wanted to do as much as I could.
     
  16. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Maybe it's just the A's, then . . . I've never been that big on AMD procs, but my father has had a few and they all seem to be mobo warmers . . . He's got one right now that idles at 40 somethin. Not really sure what sockets his two mobos are, though . . . never really cared, either :laugh:
     
  17. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    :laugh: Yeah, Socket A was not known for being cool/quiet. The Sempron 2500 I had for a while idled at 53C... :p.

    Fortunately technology evolved and the new Athlons are extremely cool/quiet. Certainly better than the Intels they competed with for a while (P4 Prescott) ;).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page