1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NOOB in over his head

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jerryflyguy, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So I tried to flash a bios into my new Sapphire 280x Toxic... somehow I've messed up my UEFI bios such that I can't reflash the old bios.

    I did all the flashing while in the UEFI side of things [switch lit]. I also copied both the legacy side and the UEFI side before I flashed it. [atiflash -s 0 0a.rom and 0b.rom] 0a.rom was the legacy and then I'd push the switch and do 0b.rom which was the UEFI.

    Now I'm not able to boot in UEFI [bricked] yet I'm able to boot in legacy. However there are numerous issues w/ the card in legacy [that were not there before I bricked it].

    Turns out my card is a Elpida and one of the bios tweaks I did was a older bios for the Hynix [15.39.0000]

    Can anyone give me some guidance on what I should do to recover this card back to stock?

    I can't seem to find the required [orginal] bios anywhere... its the 15.43.0005 version..

    Once I get my hands on that bios, how do I go about flashing it such that it goes in correctly [ie; get the UEFI in the right side and the legacy in the right side]...

    can you tell I'm in over my head?
     
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,277 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    CZ
    1. boot on the legacy bios
    2. once you're in MS DOS push the BIOS switch on the GPU onto the position of the bricked BIOS
    3. flash the backup BIOS
     
  3. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi buildzoid, that's what I'd tried when I reflashed the saved bios? There is no reason to think that by flashing an old incompatible bios I've permanently corrupted something? Would it be a good idea to find a fresh copy of the original bios to flash?

    Would my opening the UEFI bios in VB7 (w/out saving anything) have done something to the bios file?

    Thanks very much for your taking the time to reply!

    JFG
     
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,949 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    why you flash it? you have any problem with your current card?
     
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I always wonder the same thing, it's mostly about voltage and overclocking AFAIK. After seeing 100's of posts about bricked cards, it's kind of obvious the risk/reward isn't worth it.
     
  6. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    774
    oooh oooh!!! $10 says " 'Miner"......
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,949 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah, i dunno where they find suggestion "just flash it and it done"
    flashing should get placed as the last try or at least they know what they do
    if theres something wrong or not usual, just rma it, wanna OC it you can do through software, its safer
     
  8. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Software OC adds a minor percentage overhead. Even though I agree with you all, and find flashing BIOS's on GPU's entirely a pointless venture, it does have its uses. For example, voltage unlocked BIOS's made available for 780's and Titans, and also the Asus BIOS for the 290 which allowed a higher than reference voltage for OC. I will never and have never flashed a GPU BIOS, and I find it worthless for the risk involved, especially when it is something that can be achieved by software. But alas, this is an enthusiast site, so it's perfectly acceptable for people to want to flash BIOS's, and ask for help when it breaks.

    Piece of advice for the OP. If you're happy to accept you're a noob and you realise you're in over your head, I recommend you practice flashing BIOS's on a throwaway GPU, especially if it's your first time. That way you dont end up with a £200 paperweight.

    In any case @Law-II is amazing at helping people out with failed GPU flashes. Ask him.
     
    psyko12 and Law-II say thanks.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Amen to the latter. Some don't get the idea of calculated risk (hell, I'm running a naked IB CPU). Every time I see "Help I've bricked my card", I shake my head.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  10. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes, the bios change was to improve performance while mining, and it did, until I inadvertently did something wrong. I'd done thing is a way which I understood was safe and reversible. Was not dual bios GPU's intended for enthusiasts to do this very thing?

    I'm not claiming to be an expert. If someone is interested in these things, regardless of the reason, is not the best way to learn, to just do it? I was under the impression Techpowerup was all about this type of thing, regardless of the reason?
     
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Ignore my tirade. Yes, we're here to help (ok most of us, lol). For some reasons that I don't fully understand, flashing the BIOS of certain cards is irreversible. You'll need a little luck to find someone who may have the same card or situation you're in and has figured it out, or just keep trying.
     
  12. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks Sasqui! On these dual bios cards where one is a UEFI, there is no way to flash both bios in one go, right? If I was to find someone w/ a clean card and get them to pull the bios w/ GPUz, I'd need both bios and have to flash them both in to refresh the card [if I can]... correct?
     
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Have you checked TPU's BIOS database?
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    So yea, the puzzle is the dual boot with UEFI BIOS in one slot and traditional in the other. I don't know but pretty sure you need both versions and flash two times. I hope it isn't the case, but the wrong traditional BIOS could have done something to the card that a fresh flash of each won't help.

    Here's a read (not really relevant but interesting): http://www.adventcomputers.co.uk/product-support/faq-windows-8-uefi-and-graphics-cards-updated

    And yea, what RCoon said :)
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  15. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Using VBE7 to edit legacy vbios image disables UEFI in hybrid vbios images [more likley vbios image did not copy/backup as expected]
    Note: [opening UEFI vbios without saving should not have corrupted or changed the image]

    Did see this warning
    UEFI part will be disabled.jpg
    When opening UEFI vbios image ?

    As I understand from the OP switch position #1 is the legacy vbios image and switch position #2 is UEFI on the Sapphire 280x Toxic

    Use the backup images and flash both legacy #1 and UEFI #2 [or obtain copies of the original vbios images]

    Deap clean the driver use DDU before flashing at a DOS prompt

    If have already re-flashed switch position #2 with backup of UEFI vbios image, [Try again] Use latest version of atiflash at a DOS prompt type

    atiflash -ai 0 [check position and adapter information]

    atiflash -f -p 0 #BiosName#.rom [unconditional force flash]

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Frogger, Arjai, the54thvoid and 3 others say thanks.
  16. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks Law-II, I did see that message when opening the UEFI vbios.. I'm regretting not using GPUz to pull a copy of the bios from the cards. [Live and learn I guess]
    Yes, position 1 [switch unlit] is the Legacy bios and position 2 [switch lit] is the UEFI.
    I can do a re-flash of both of them. I haven't changed anything or flashed anything into the Legacy bios so maybe thats my issue..
    Can you expand on the DDU before flashing?
    I had issue w/ the latest version of Atiflash [4.17] but was doing some reading and think the issue was that the file name is atiflash-4.17.exe and I was only putting in 'atiflash -f -p 0 new_bios.rom' because of the name mis-match I was getting an 'bad file name' error but.... didn't take the error litterally enough to pick that up... If I was to edit the file name to be Atiflash.exe again... I'm sure it'd work??
    I looked on the vgabios list and didn't find any bios downloads of this number? [015.043.000.005.000000] I've looked for a source of this bios but haven't found one... any other good places to look? IF I did find a copy of the Bios, I should be looking for two files due to the Legacy vs UEFI bios? [I downloaded the prior bios (015.039.000.000000) and see that it's only 1 file... so I'm a bit confused on that one..]
    The "atiflash -ai 0" will give me some kind of report on the switch position and adapter info?
    Thanks for the fantastic help! I know I'm a noob however I DO have a head on my shoulders and have self taught/learned a fair number of different fields... I appreciate the guidance in helping me learn this one!!
    JFg
     
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Jerry, look here: https://www.google.com/#q=015.043.000.005.000000

    You may need to hit some other forums. You could also post a new thread on TPU under graphics cards like "Looking for Sapphire 280x Toxic BIOS" - that may get the right eyes on what you're looking for.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  18. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ya, I've been looking and posting on a few other forums.. I'm sure someone should have it or be willing to share.. for these dual Bios cards.... should I be looking for two Bios file or just one?
     
  19. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Indeed Yes: I have heard that the latest version of atiflash has mixed results when copying vbios images [I use both GPU-Z & Atiflash]

    Thanks for the information


    May well be: flashing an unedited version of the legacy/UEFI vbios image back to the vga card may well fix this issue

    Download DDU here extract/install [run system in windows safe mode access press and hold/tap F8 at boot] run DDU from extraction point [cleans reg entries and driver]

    Keep file name at or under five characters

    Look for one file, [*however I am assumming that the bios switch dose not switch between two physical bios chips on the PCB and that both vbios images are held to the same single vbios chip] *as the warning was shown when opening the image with VBE7

    Yes: check with switch in both positions if possible [for a full list of commands look here Thanks go out to CrackerJack]
    atb

    Law-II
     
  20. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Is there a program or tool that I can use to look at a ROM file and confirm the bios version etc? I've got a bios that I found but would like to confirm it's the correct flavour before i try to flash it ....
     
  21. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    use VBE7 [just make two copies of the file that requires examination one to look at and one to flash; just in case]

    atb

    Law-II
     
  22. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Law-II, this install is on a linux system.. so would the DDU run there? I've created a new install of the OS and tried that w/ out much effect..

    The strange thing about all this is that in the Legacy bio position the card will actually boot etc... it just won't 'run' as it should.. but then, maybe that's not so strange.. ??
     
  23. jerryflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well I looked at the bios using VBE7 and got the UEFI alert and the numbers match, guess it's worth a try to flash it in.... what would you recommend for flashing proceedure as far as which bios switch position etc?
     
  24. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,138 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I think it would make sense to flash the UEFI, the one NOT currently working, First. That way, you won't eff-up the BIOS that is properly posting enough to flash anything.

    Sound good? :D
     
    FX-GMC says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    855 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Listen to this guy. The logic is strong. DON'T FLASH OVER THE WORKING BIOS UNTIL YOU FIX THE OTHER.
     
    Arjai says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page