1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Noob questions about Flashing my GIGABYTE Radeon HD3870 512MB GDDR4 with RBE 1.17

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by moskwiz, Oct 27, 2008.

1. moskwiz

moskwiz New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi!

First off, I'm a total noob so please bare with me.

I am thinking of flashing my above mentioned card with a BIOS that only has custom fan speed settings (I would cutsomize the default BIOS myself). I don't want to start fiddling with the clocks or voltage values since I don't really understand any of that stuff.. I just want to get rid of that stupid error the card's stock BIOS has which prevents the card's fan from increasing speed as temperature rises. My card has the stock cooler on it.
    So for the questions:

1) If I only alter the fan-speeds in the new BIOS, what are the chances of my card having driver compatibility issues in the future?

2) If I only alter the fan-speeds in the new BIOS, will my card be overclockable in CCC?

3) Is there maybe an ATI approved BIOS that already has the fan-speed error (and maybe the 862Mhz overclock error) fixed?

4) Would it be wiser to go the extra mile and just buy an aftermarket cooler (such as a TT DuOrb or a Zalm. VF1000) to achieve a s olution for the fan speed error?
    - Do the above mentioned aftermarket coolers have automatic fan-speed control based on heat? Would their fans connect to my motherboard, not my Graphics card?

---
    No more questions atm, tho I'm sure more will rise.. Please feel free to move this thread if it's posted in the wrong sub-forum. Oh and sorry for any inconvenience I might have caused to the admin's due to my ignorant noobness :D

Thank you in advance =)

moskwiz.
  2. DMF New Member

Thanks Received:
    Your last question tells me you haven't read the RBE Tutorial. Read it first, then ask questions.
  3. moskwiz

moskwiz New Member

Thanks Received: